State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 23%
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 0%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 23%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 92%
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 25%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 100%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 100%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 100%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 92%
CA State Assembly-2 Wesley Chesbro D 100%
CA State Senate-2 Noreen Evans D 100%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 92%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 100%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 100%
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 100%
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 100%
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 23%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 92%
CA State Senate-37 Mimi Walters R 15%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 31%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen D 92%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 92%
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 31%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 15%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 92%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 100%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz D 92%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 31%
CA Council Member-At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 92%
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 31%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 92%
Samuel Aanestad 8%
Richard Ackerman 15%
Gregory Aghazarian 31%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 85%
Roy Ashburn 23%
James Battin 8%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Sam Blakeslee 23%
Russell Bogh 39%
Joseph Canciamilla 69%
Edward Chavez 92%
Rebecca Cohn 85%
Joe Coto 100%
Dave Cox 23%
Lynn Daucher 31%
Hector De La Torre 100%
Charles DeVore 31%
Denise Ducheny 83%
Joseph Dunn 100%
Robert Dutton 15%
Mervyn Dymally 92%
Bill Emmerson 15%
Martha Escutia 82%
Liz Figueroa 92%
Dean Florez 77%
Dario Frommer 92%
Bonnie Garcia 62%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 25%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 8%
Dennis Hollingsworth 15%
Jerome Horton 85%
Shirley Horton 62%
Guy Houston 15%
Betty Karnette 100%
Richard Keene 23%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Johan Klehs 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 18%
Robert Leslie 15%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Michael Machado 77%
Abel Maldonado 31%
Bob Margett 25%
Barbara Matthews 77%
Bill Maze 15%
Carole Migden 100%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 15%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 23%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 73%
Joseph Nation 92%
Pedro Nava 100%
Roger Niello 15%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Nicole Parra 85%
Don Perata 93%
George Plescia 31%
Charles Poochigian 23%
Keith Stuart Richman 31%
Gloria Romero 100%
George Runner, Jr. 17%
Sharon Runner 31%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 92%
Nell Soto 100%
Audra Strickland 15%
Alberto Torrico 100%
Van Tran 46%
Thomas Umberg 100%
Mike Villines 15%
Edward Vincent 90%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.