Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Asian Americans for Civil Rights and Equality

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 54%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 23%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 23%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 85%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 46%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan No Party Affiliation 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer 54%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 46%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 100%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 62%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 92%
Samuel Aanestad 31%
Richard Ackerman 23%
Gregory Aghazarian 54%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Roy Ashburn 38%
James Battin 31%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 92%
Russell Bogh 46%
Debra Bowen 92%
Ron Calderon 100%
John Campbell III 33%
Joseph Canciamilla 92%
Edward Chavez 92%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
David Cogdill 54%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Dave Cox 50%
Lynn Daucher 54%
Denise Ducheny 92%
Joe Dunn 100%
Robert Dutton 46%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 77%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Dean Florez 69%
Dario Frommer 100%
Bonnie Garcia 85%
Jackie Goldberg 92%
Tom Harman 50%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 38%
Dennis Hollingsworth 31%
Jerome Horton 100%
Shirley Horton 92%
Guy Houston 46%
Richard Keene 54%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 54%
Robert Leslie 46%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Michael Machado 85%
Abel Maldonado 77%
Bob Margett 31%
Barbara Matthews 92%
Bill Maze 54%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 31%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 46%
Eugene Mullin 92%
Kevin Murray 100%
Joseph Nation 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 100%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 92%
Nicole Parra 92%
Don Perata 92%
George Plescia 54%
Charles Poochigian 31%
Keith Stuart Richman 77%
Gloria Romero 100%
Sharon Runner 46%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 92%
Nell Soto 100%
Mark Wyland 54%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top