Rating Group: Minnesota Family Council-Minnesota Family Institute

2008 Positions on Conservative Values

State Office Name Party Rating
MN State Senate-35 Jim Abeler II R 77%
MN State Senate-29 Bruce Anderson R 100%
Ellen Anderson 0%
MN State House-44A Sarah Anderson R 100%
MN State House-5B Tom Anzelc DFL 9%
MN State House-52B Joseph Atkins DFL 8%
MN State Senate-3 Thomas Bakk DFL 0%
MN Commissioner-3 Michael Beard 100%
John Benson 15%
Linda Berglin 0%
Donald Betzold 0%
MN Commissioner-4 Karla Bigham 0%
MN State House-20B David Bly DFL 0%
MN State Senate-44 Terri Bonoff DFL 0%
Laura Brod 100%
Robin Brown 8%
Kathy Brynaert 0%
Mark Buesgens 100%
Julie Bunn 0%
MN State Senate-51 Jim Carlson DFL 0%
MN State House-45A Lyndon Carlson, Sr. DFL 0%
Satveer Chaudhary 0%
MN State House-62A Karen Clark DFL 0%
Tarryl Clark 0%
MN State Senate-64 Richard Cohen DFL 0%
MN State House-23B Tony Cornish R 100%
MN State Senate-20 Kevin Dahle DFL 0%
MN State House-63A Jim Davnie DFL 0%
Richard Day 100%
MN State House-38B Matt Dean R 100%
Randy Demmer 100%
MN State House-39A Bob Dettmer R 100%
MN State Senate-61 D. Scott Dibble DFL 0%
David Dill 46%
Stephen Dille 86%
Denise Dittrich 15%
John Doll 13%
Al Doty 62%
MN State House-21B Steve Drazkowski R 100%
Robert Eastlund 100%
MN State Senate-4 Kent Eken DFL 54%
MN U.S. House-6 Tom Emmer R 100%
Sharon Erickson Ropes 20%
Tim Faust 38%
MN State Senate-13 Michelle Fischbach R 100%
Leo Foley 0%
Dennis Frederickson 88%
Patti Fritz 38%
Paul Gardner 8%
MN State House-58B Patrick Garofalo R 100%
MN Commissioner-7 Chris Gerlach R 100%
Joseph Gimse 100%
Steve Gottwalt 100%
Mindy Greiling 8%
MN State House-23A Bob Gunther R 100%
MN State House-31B Tom Hackbarth R 100%
MN State House-22B Rod Hamilton R 92%
MN State Senate-48 David Hann R 100%
MN State House-52A Rick Hansen DFL 8%
MN State House-66A Alice Hausman DFL 0%
Larry Haws 38%
MN Commissioner-2 Linda Higgins 0%
MN State House-40B Debra Hilstrom DFL 0%
Bill Hilty 8%
MN Commissioner-6 Mary Holberg 100%
MN State House-47B Joe Hoppe R 92%
MN State House-61A Frank Hornstein DFL 0%
MN State House-36B Melissa Hortman DFL 0%
Larry Hosch 38%
Larry Howes 100%
Thomas Huntley 0%
MN State Senate-8 Bill Ingebrigtsen R 100%
Debbie Johnson 100%
MN State House-67B Sheldon Johnson DFL 0%
Al Juhnke 50%
Michael Jungbauer 88%
MN State House-60B Phyllis Kahn DFL 0%
Jeremy Kalin 0%
Margaret Kelliher 0%
Katherine Knuth 0%
Amy Koch 100%
MN State Senate-17 Lyle Koenen DFL 77%
Paul Koering 83%
Paul Kohls 100%
Gary Kubly 13%
MN State House-41B Carolyn Laine DFL 8%
Keith Langseth 0%
Morrie Lanning 100%
MN State Senate-46 Ronald Latz DFL 0%
Ann Lenczewski 23%
MN State House-66B John Lesch DFL 8%
MN State House-26A Tina Liebling DFL 0%
Bernard Lieder 31%
MN State House-43B Leon Lillie DFL 8%
MN State Senate-34 Warren Limmer R 100%
MN State House-60A Diane Loeffler DFL 0%
MN State Senate-11 Tony Lourey DFL 0%
Ann Lynch 0%
Doug Magnus 100%
MN State House-67A Tim Mahoney DFL 0%
MN State House-65B Carlos Mariani DFL 8%
MN State House-4B Paul Marquart DFL 38%
MN State Senate-66 John Marty DFL 0%
MN State House-51A Sandra Masin DFL 15%
Carol McFarlane 77%
MN State House-54B Denny McNamara R 92%
MN State Senate-52 Jim Metzen DFL 13%
Geoff Michel 88%
William Morgan 0%
Terence Morrow 8%
Mee Moua 0%
MN State House-59A Joe Mullery DFL 0%
MN State House-64A Erin Murphy DFL 0%
MN State House-3B Mary Murphy DFL 38%
Steve Murphy 0%
MN State House-40A Michael Nelson DFL 0%
MN State House-8A Bud Nornes R 100%
MN State House-25B Kim Norton DFL 0%
David Olin 54%
Rick Olseen 0%
Gen Olson 100%
Mary Olson 29%
MN State Senate-47 Julianne Ortman R 100%
Mary Otremba 77%
MN State Senate-65 Sandra Pappas DFL 0%
Patricia Pariseau 100%
Michael Paymar 0%
MN State House-28A Pelowski, Jr. DFL 46%
MN State House-34A Joyce Peppin R 100%
Sandra Peterson 0%
Lawrence Pogemiller 0%
MN State House-27B Jeanne Poppe DFL 8%
Prettner Solon 0%
MN State Senate-45 Ann Rest DFL 13%
Claire Robling 100%
MN State Senate-23 Julie Rosen R 100%
MN Commissioner-4 Tom Rukavina 8%
Sandy Rummel 0%
Maria Ruud 0%
Brita Sailer 0%
Kathy Saltzman 0%
MN State Senate-5 Tom Saxhaug DFL 0%
MN State Senate-42 Bev Scalze DFL 10%
Linda Scheid 0%
Marty Seifert 100%
MN State Senate-25 David Senjem R 100%
Anthony Sertich 0%
Daniel Severson 100%
MN State Senate-19 Kathy Sheran DFL 25%
MN Commissioner-1 Ron Shimanski 100%
MN State Senate-54 Katie Sieben DFL 0%
MN Secretary of State Steve Simon DFL 0%
MN State Senate-2 Rod Skoe DFL 0%
Dan Skogen 33%
MN Mayor-At-Large Nora Slawik 0%
MN State House-50A Linda Slocum DFL 0%
Steve Smith 100%
Loren Solberg 23%
MN State Senate-27 Daniel Sparks DFL 38%
MN State Senate-1 LeRoy Stumpf DFL 25%
Marsha Swails 0%
Cy Thao 0%
MN State House-61B Paul Thissen DFL 0%
Tom Tillberry 0%
MN State Senate-6 David Tomassoni DFL 0%
MN State Senate-63 Patricia Torres Ray DFL 0%
MN State House-18A Dean Urdahl R 100%
Ray Vandeveer 100%
James Vickerman 63%
MN State House-63B Jean Wagenius DFL 0%
John Ward 62%
Andy Welti 8%
MN State Senate-12 Torrey Westrom R 100%
MN State Senate-43 Charles Wiger DFL 0%
Ryan Winkler 0%
Kurt Zellers 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.