or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Federation of Government Employees

2003-2004 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 69%
Gary Ackerman 62%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 8%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 0%
Rodney Alexander 38%
Wayne Allard 0%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 69%
Rob Andrews 62%
Joe Baca, Sr. 62%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 0%
Brian Baird 62%
Richard Hugh Baker 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 69%
J. Gresham Barrett 8%
Roscoe Bartlett 0%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
Charlie Bass 0%
Max Baucus 78%
Evan Bayh 89%
Bob Beauprez 0%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 69%
Bob Bennett 0%
Shelley Berkley 62%
Howard Berman 69%
Marion Berry 69%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
Judy Biggert 0%
Michael Bilirakis 0%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 0%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 54%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 62%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 69%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 8%
Sherwood Boehlert 15%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 0%
Kit Bond 0%
Henry Bonilla 0%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 0%
Mary Bono Mack 0%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 0%
Leonard Boswell 62%
Rick Boucher 46%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 89%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 38%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 69%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 54%
Henry Brown, Jr. 0%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 69%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Ginny Brown-Waite 8%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 0%
Conrad Burns 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 8%
Dan Burton 8%
Steve Buyer 0%
Robert Byrd 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 0%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 0%
Chris Cannon 0%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 8%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 69%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 77%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 69%
Dennis Cardoza 62%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 78%
Julia Carson 62%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 0%
Edward Case 62%
Mike Castle 8%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 15%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 56%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
Chris Chocola 0%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 69%
Hillary Clinton 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 69%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 15%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 0%
Norm Coleman 0%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 0%
Kent Conrad 89%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 62%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 38%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
Jerry Costello 69%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 23%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 0%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 62%
Barbara Cubin 0%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 8%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 54%
Randall Cunningham 0%
Artur Davis 62%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 77%
James Davis 62%
Jo Ann Davis 8%
Lincoln Davis 38%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 77%
Thomas Davis III 0%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 69%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 69%
Bill Delahunt 77%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 69%
Thomas DeLay 0%
James DeMint 8%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 0%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 15%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 0%
Norm Dicks 62%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 69%
Chris Dodd 89%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 69%
Elizabeth Dole 0%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
John Doolittle 15%
Byron Dorgan 89%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 54%
David Dreier 0%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 0%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Chet Edwards 54%
Vern Ehlers 0%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 62%
Jo Ann Emerson 8%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 69%
Philip English 15%
John Ensign 11%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 62%
Bob Etheridge 62%
Lane Evans 69%
Terry Everett 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 77%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 62%
Tom Feeney 8%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 78%
Michael Ferguson 0%
Bob Filner 77%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 15%
Mark Foley 0%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 0%
Harold Ford, Jr. 54%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 0%
Barney Frank 69%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 0%
William Frist 0%
Elton Gallegly 0%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 8%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 0%
Jim Gibbons 0%
Wayne Gilchrest 8%
Paul Gillmor 0%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 0%
Charlie Gonzalez 62%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 0%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 0%
Bart Gordon 46%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 22%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 0%
Mark Green 8%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 54%
Judd Gregg 11%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 69%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 69%
Gilbert Gutknecht 15%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 11%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 15%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 89%
Jane Harman 54%
Katherine Harris 0%
Melissa Hart 0%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 69%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Robert Hayes 0%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 0%
Joel Hefley 8%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 8%
Wally Herger, Jr. 0%
Maurice Hinchey 69%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top