Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Sierra Club, Grand Canyon Chapter

2006 Positions on Environmental Conservation

State Office District Name Party Rating
AZ U.S. House 1 Ann Kirkpatrick Democratic A
AZ U.S. House 9 Kyrsten Sinema Democratic A
AZ State House 7 Albert Hale Democratic B
AZ State House 12 Eddie Farnsworth Republican F
AZ State House 15 John Allen Republican F
AZ State House 18 Bob Robson Republican F
AZ State House 30 Debbie McCune Davis Democratic A
AZ State Senate 3 Olivia Cajero Bedford Democratic A
AZ State Senate 10 Dave Bradley Democratic A
AZ State Senate 12 Andy Biggs Republican F
AZ State Senate 15 Nancy Barto Republican F
AZ State Senate 17 Steven Yarbrough Republican F
AZ State Senate 18 John McComish Republican F
AZ State Senate 21 Rick Murphy Republican F
AZ State Senate 22 Judy Burges Republican F
AZ State Senate 23 Michele Reagan Republican B
AZ State Senate 26 Ed Ableser Democratic A
AZ State Senate 27 Leah Landrum Taylor Democratic A
AZ State Senate 29 Steve Gallardo Democratic A
AZ State Senate 30 Robert Meza Democratic A
AZ Secretary of State Ken Bennett Republican F
AZ Corporation Commission Chairman Bob Stump Republican F
AZ Corporation Commissioner Robert Burns Republican F
AZ Corporation Commissioner Gary Pierce Republican D
AZ Mayor Position 4 Jerry Weiers Republican F
AZ Mayor At-Large Jay Tibshraeny Republican F
AZ Vice Mayor 2 Jim Waring Republican D
AZ Supervisor 1 Peter Rios Democratic A
AZ Supervisor 2 Cheryl Chase Republican B
AZ Superintendent of Public Instruction John Huppenthal Republican F
Paula Aboud A+
Kirk Adams F
Amanda Aguirre B
Linda Aguirre A
Carolyn Allen C
Manny Alvarez B
Mark Anderson F
Marsha Arzberger C
Ray Barnes D
Timothy Bee F
Robert Blendu F
Tom Boone D
William Brotherton A
Jack Brown C
Jennifer Burns B
Meg Burton Cahill A+
Robert Cannell C
Ted Carpenter F
Ken Cheuvront C
Ted Downing B
Franklin Flake F
Jorge Garcia A+
Martha Garcia A+
Pamela Gorman F
Ron Gould F
Chuck Gray F
Linda Gray F
Trish Groe F
Jack Harper F
Toni Hellon B
Pete Hershberger A
Steve Huffman C
Karen Johnson F
Russ Jones C
Laura Knaperek F
Bill Konopnicki C
Barbara Leff F
Phil Lopes A
Linda Lopez A
David Lujan A
Dean Martin F
Lucy Mason C
Marian Ann McClure B
Nancy McLain D
Ben Miranda A
John Nelson C
Warde Nichols F
Tom O'Halleran A
Jonathan Paton C
Russell Pearce F
Thomas Prezelski, Jr. A
Doug Quelland C
Rebecca Rios B
Colette Rosati F
Victor Soltero B
Albert Tom A
Stephen Tully F
Thayer Verschoor F
Jim Weiers C

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top