Rating Group: American Immigration Lawyers Association

2007-2008 Positions

Issues: Legal , Immigration
State Office Name Party Rating
Bob Bennett 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback R 100%
Norm Coleman 100%
ME U.S. Senate-Sr Susan Collins R 100%
Larry Craig 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel R 100%
UT U.S. Senate-Sr Orrin Hatch R 100%
SD U.S. Senate-Sr Timothy Johnson D 100%
Trent Lott, Sr. 100%
Evan Bayh 80%
Kit Bond 80%
NC U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Burr R 80%
GA U.S. Senate-Sr Saxby Chambliss R 80%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 80%
John Ensign 80%
Judd Gregg 80%
Kay Hutchison 80%
GA U.S. Senate-Jr Johnny Isakson R 80%
Dick Lugar 80%
Melquiades Martinez 80%
KY U.S. Senate-Sr Mitch McConnell R 80%
Ben Nelson 80%
Gordon Smith 80%
Olympia Snowe 80%
John Warner 80%
NY U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Schumer D 75%
WY U.S. Senate-Jr John Barrasso R 66%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 60%
TN U.S. Senate-Sr Lamar Alexander R 60%
Wayne Allard 60%
Jeff Bingaman 60%
OH U.S. Senate-Sr Sherrod Brown D 60%
Jim Bunning 60%
WA U.S. Senate-Jr Maria Cantwell D 60%
MD U.S. Senate-Jr Ben Cardin D 60%
DE U.S. Senate-Sr Tom Carper D 60%
PA U.S. Senate-Sr Bob Casey, Jr. D 60%
OK U.S. Senate-Jr Thomas Coburn R 60%
MS U.S. Senate-Sr Thad Cochran R 60%
TN U.S. Senate-Jr Robert Corker R 60%
TX U.S. Senate-Sr John Cornyn R 60%
ID U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Crapo R 60%
James DeMint 60%
Elizabeth Dole 60%
IL U.S. Senate-Sr Dick Durbin D 60%
WY U.S. Senate-Sr Mike Enzi R 60%
Russ Feingold 60%
CA U.S. Senate-Sr Dianne Feinstein D 60%
SC U.S. Senate-Sr Lindsey Graham R 60%
IA U.S. Senate-Sr Chuck Grassley R 60%
IA U.S. Senate-Jr Tom Harkin D 60%
OK U.S. Senate-Sr Jim Inhofe R 60%
MN U.S. Senate-Sr Amy Klobuchar DFL 60%
Herb Kohl 60%
Jon Kyl 60%
Frank Lautenberg 60%
VT U.S. Senate-Sr Patrick Leahy D 60%
MI U.S. Senate-Sr Carl Levin D 60%
Joe Lieberman 60%
Blanche Lincoln 60%
NJ U.S. Senate-Sr Bob Menendez D 60%
MD U.S. Senate-Sr Barbara Mikulski D 60%
AK U.S. Senate-Sr Lisa Murkowski R 60%
WA U.S. Senate-Sr Patty Murray D 60%
RI U.S. Senate-Sr Jack Reed D 60%
NV U.S. Senate-Sr Harry Reid D 60%
KS U.S. Senate-Sr Pat Roberts R 60%
WV U.S. Senate-Sr Jay Rockefeller IV D 60%
Ken Salazar 60%
MI U.S. Senate-Jr Debbie Stabenow D 60%
John Sununu 60%
SD U.S. Senate-Jr John Thune R 60%
LA U.S. Senate-Jr David Vitter R 60%
Jim Webb, Jr. 60%
RI U.S. Senate-Jr Sheldon Whitehouse D 60%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. D 50%
CA U.S. Senate-Jr Barbara Boxer D 50%
Hillary Clinton 50%
Daniel Inouye 50%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 50%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry D 50%
FL U.S. Senate-Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. D 50%
NA President Barack Obama II D 50%
Ted Stevens 50%
OR U.S. Senate-Sr Ron Wyden D 50%
Max Baucus 40%
LA U.S. Senate-Sr Mary Landrieu D 40%
MO U.S. Senate-Sr Claire McCaskill D 40%
AR U.S. Senate-Sr Mark Pryor D 40%
VT U.S. Senate-Jr Bernie Sanders I 40%
AL U.S. Senate-Sr Richard Shelby R 40%
Arlen Specter 40%
George Voinovich 40%
Kent Conrad 25%
Robert Byrd 20%
Byron Dorgan 20%
AL U.S. Senate-Jr Jeff Sessions III R 20%
MT U.S. Senate-Sr Jon Tester D 20%
Chris Dodd 0%
Craig Thomas 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.