or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California School Employees Association

2009 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 90%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 88%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 85%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 80%
Hector De La Torre 80%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 80%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 80%
Gloria Romero 77%
Sandré Swanson 77%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 75%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 71%
CA State Senate 24 Edward Hernandez Democratic 70%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 70%
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 70%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 66%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 66%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 62%
Denise Ducheny 62%
Warren Furutani 62%
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 62%
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 62%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 60%
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 60%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 60%
Mike Feuer 60%
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 60%
Mary Hayashi 60%
Alyson Huber 60%
Ira Ruskin 60%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 60%
Patricia Wiggins 60%
Mike Eng 57%
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 56%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 55%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 55%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 50%
Anna Caballero 50%
Charles Calderon 50%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 50%
Joe Coto 50%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian Democratic 50%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 50%
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 50%
Pedro Nava 50%
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 50%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 50%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 50%
Lori Saldaña 50%
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 50%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 44%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 44%
Amina Carter 44%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 44%
Christine Kehoe 44%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 44%
Juan Arambula 40%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 40%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 40%
Dean Florez 40%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 40%
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 40%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 40%
Fiona Ma 40%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 40%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 40%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 40%
Jose Solorio 40%
Alberto Torrico 40%
Robert Dutton 37%
Jenny Oropeza 37%
Elaine Alquist 33%
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 33%
Tony Mendoza 33%
Mary Salas 33%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 33%
Bill Berryhill 30%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 30%
Roger Niello 30%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 30%
Tony Strickland 30%
Audra Strickland 30%
Van Tran 30%
Anthony Adams 22%
Sam Blakeslee 22%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 22%
Danny Gilmore 22%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 20%
Bill Emmerson 20%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 20%
Martin Garrick 20%
Tom Harman 20%
Abel Maldonado 20%
Jeff Miller 20%
Cameron Smyth 20%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 20%
Mike Davis 16%
CA State Senate 14 Tom Berryhill Republican 13%
Nathan Fletcher 12%
George Runner, Jr. 12%
Samuel Aanestad 11%
Charles DeVore 11%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 11%
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 11%
Jim Silva 11%
Mike Villines 11%
Roy Ashburn 10%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 10%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 10%
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 10%
Dave Cox 10%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 10%
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 10%
Michael Duvall 0%
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 0%
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top