or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Medical Association

1999 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Rob Andrews 100%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 100%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 100%
James Barcia 100%
Robert Barr, Jr. 100%
Max Baucus 100%
Evan Bayh 100%
Marion Berry 100%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
Michael Bilirakis 100%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 100%
Sherwood Boehlert 100%
Mary Bono Mack 100%
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
Leonard Boswell 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
John Breaux 100%
Robert Byrd 100%
Herbert Callahan 100%
Chris Cannon 100%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 100%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 100%
Robert Clement 100%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 100%
Kent Conrad 100%
Jerry Costello 100%
Thomas Daschle 100%
James Davis 100%
Thomas Davis III 100%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
Byron Dorgan 100%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
John Edwards 100%
Bob Etheridge 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Peter Fitzgerald 100%
Mark Foley 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 100%
Elton Gallegly 100%
John Ganske 100%
Jim Gibbons 100%
Benjamin Gilman 100%
Bart Gordon 100%
Daniel Graham 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 100%
James Greenwood 100%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 100%
Tony Hall 100%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
Joel Hefley 100%
Baron Hill 100%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 100%
Thomas Holden 100%
Ernest Hollings 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 100%
Duncan Hunter 100%
Henry Hyde 100%
Daniel Inouye 100%
William Jefferson 100%
William Lewis Jenkins 100%
Christopher John 100%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 100%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 100%
Sue Kelly 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
Dale Kildee 100%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 100%
Gerald Kleczka 100%
Herb Kohl 100%
John LaFalce 100%
Nicholas Lampson 100%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 100%
Steve LaTourette 100%
James Leach 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 100%
Joe Lieberman 100%
Blanche Lincoln 100%
William Lipinski 100%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 100%
KY Commissioner of the Department of Veterans' Affairs Ken Lucas Democratic 100%
James Maloney 100%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 100%
John McHugh 100%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 100%
Michael McNulty 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
Dennis Moore 100%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
Jack Murtha 100%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
Jim Oberstar 100%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 100%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 100%
David Phelps 100%
Earl Pomeroy 100%
Jack Quinn 100%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
Thomas Reynolds 100%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 100%
Timothy Roemer 100%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 100%
Marge Roukema 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
Jim Saxton 100%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 100%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 100%
Donald Sherwood 100%
Ronnie Shows 100%
Ike Skelton 100%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 100%
John Spratt, Jr. 100%
Charles Stenholm 100%
Ted Strickland 100%
Bart Stupak 100%
John Sweeney 100%
Gene Taylor 100%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 100%
Robert Torricelli 100%
James Traficant, Jr. 100%
James Turner 100%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 100%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 100%
James Walsh 100%
Zach Wamp 100%
David Weldon 100%
W. Curtis Weldon 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Heather Wilson 100%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 100%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
Albert Wynn 100%
Bill Young 100%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 66%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 66%
Thomas Allen 66%
Richard Armey 66%
Brian Baird 66%
Richard Hugh Baker 66%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 66%
Cass Ballenger 66%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 66%
Roscoe Bartlett 66%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 66%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 66%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 66%
Shelley Berkley 66%
Howard Berman 66%
Rod Blagojevich 66%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 66%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 66%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 66%
Henry Bonilla 66%
David Edward Bonior 66%
Rick Boucher 66%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 66%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 66%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 66%
Ed Bryant 66%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 66%
Dan Burton 66%
Steve Buyer 66%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 66%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 66%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 66%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 66%
Julia Carson 66%
Mike Castle 66%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 66%
Eva Clayton 66%
Michael Collins 66%
Larry Combest 66%
Gary Condit 66%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 66%
John Cooksey 66%
Christopher Cox 66%
Robert Cramer 66%
Philip Crane 66%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 66%
Barbara Cubin 66%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 66%
Randall Cunningham 66%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 66%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 66%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 66%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top