Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

2010 Positions on Gun Rights

Issues: Guns
State Office Name Party Rating
MD U.S. Senate-Sr Barbara Mikulski D F
MD U.S. House-1 Andy Harris R A
MD U.S. House-2 Dutch Ruppersberger D F
MD U.S. House-3 John Sarbanes D F
MD U.S. House-4 Donna Edwards D F
MD U.S. House-5 Steny Hoyer D F
MD U.S. House-7 Elijah Cummings D F
MD U.S. House-8 Chris Van Hollen, Jr. D F
MD State House-1A Wendell Beitzel R A
MD State House-2A Neil Parrott R A
MD State House-4 Kathy Afzali R C
MD State House-5 Susan Krebs R A
MD State House-6 Ric Metzgar R F
MD State House-7 Richard Impallaria R A
MD State House-7 Patrick McDonough R A
MD State House-7 Kathy Szeliga R A
MD State House-8 Eric Bromwell D A
MD State House-8 John Cluster, Jr. R A
MD State House-9A Warren Miller R A
MD State House-11 Dan Morhaim D F
MD State House-13 Shane Pendergrass D F
MD State House-13 Frank Turner D F
MD State House-14 Anne Kaiser D F
MD State House-15 Kathleen Dumais D F
MD State House-16 Bill Frick D F
MD State House-17 Kumar Barve D F
MD State House-17 James Gilchrist D F
MD State House-18 Ana Sol Gutierrez D F
MD State House-18 Jeff Waldstreicher D F
MD State House-19 Benjamin Kramer D F
MD State House-20 Sheila Hixson D F
MD State House-21 Ben Barnes D F
MD State House-21 Barbara Frush D F
MD State House-21 Joseline Pena-Melnyk D F
MD State House-22 Tawanna Gaines D F
MD State House-22 Anne Healey D F
MD State House-23B Marvin Holmes, Jr. D D
MD State House-23B Joseph Vallario, Jr. D A-
MD State House-24 Carolyn Howard D F
MD State House-24 Michael Vaughn D F
MD State House-25 Dereck Davis D D
MD State House-26 Kris Valderrama D F
MD State House-26 Jay Walker D F
MD State House-27A James Proctor, Jr. D F
MD State House-27C Mark Fisher R C
MD State House-28 Sally Jameson D A
MD State House-29A Matt Morgan R C
MD State House-29C Anthony O'Donnell, Sr. R A+
MD State House-30A Mike Busch D F
MD State House-30A Herbert McMillan R A
MD State House-30B Seth Howard R A
MD State House-31A Edward Carey D A
MD State House-31B Nic Kipke R A
MD State House-32 Pam Beidle D B+
MD State House-32 Ted Sophocleus D C
MD State House-33 Tony McConkey R A
MD State House-34A Glen Glass R A-
MD State House-34B Susan McComas R A
MD State House-36 Jay Jacobs R A
MD State House-38A Charles Otto R A
MD State House-39 Charles Barkley D F
MD State House-40 Barbara Robinson D F
MD State House-41 Jill Carter D F
MD State House-41 Nathaniel Oaks D F
MD State House-41 Samuel Rosenberg D F
MD State House-42B Susan Aumann R A
MD State House-43 Curt Anderson D F
MD State House-43 Maggie McIntosh D F
MD State House-44A Keith Haynes D F
MD State House-45 Talmadge Branch D F
MD State House-45 Cheryl Glenn D F
MD State House-46 Peter Hammen D D-
MD State Senate-1 George Edwards R A
MD State Senate-2 Andrew Serafini R A
MD State Senate-3 Ron Young D D
MD State Senate-4 Michael Hough R A
MD State Senate-5 Justin Ready R A
MD State Senate-7 JB Jennings R A
MD State Senate-8 Katherine Ann Klausmeier D A
MD State Senate-9 Gail Bates R A
MD State Senate-10 Delores Kelley D F
MD State Senate-11 Robert Zirkin D F
MD State Senate-12 Edward Kasemeyer D F
MD State Senate-13 Guy Guzzone D F
MD State Senate-14 Karen Montgomery D F
MD State Senate-15 Brian Feldman D F
MD State Senate-16 Susan Lee D F
MD State Senate-18 Richard Madaleno, Jr. D F
MD State Senate-19 Roger Manno D F
MD State Senate-20 Jamie Raskin D F
MD State Senate-21 Jim Rosapepe D F
MD State Senate-22 Paul Pinsky D F
MD State Senate-24 Joanne Benson D F
MD State Senate-25 Ulysses Currie D F
MD State Senate-26 C. Anthony Muse D D
MD State Senate-27 Thomas Miller, Jr. D B
MD State Senate-28 Thomas Middleton D B+
MD State Senate-29 Stephen Waugh R A
MD State Senate-30 John Astle D A
MD State Senate-31 Bryan Simonaire R A
MD State Senate-32 James DeGrange, Sr. D A
MD State Senate-33 Edward Reilly R A
MD State Senate-35 Wayne Norman, Jr. R A
MD State Senate-36 Stephen Hershey, Jr. R A
MD State Senate-37 Addie Eckardt R B
MD State Senate-38 James Mathias, Jr. D A
MD State Senate-39 Nancy King D F
MD State Senate-40 Catherine Pugh D F
MD State Senate-41 Lisa Gladden D F
MD State Senate-42 James Brochin D A
MD State Senate-43 Joan Carter Conway D F
MD State Senate-44 Shirley Nathan-Pulliam D F
MD State Senate-45 Nathaniel McFadden D F
MD State Senate-47 Victor Ramirez D F
MD Attorney General Brian Frosh D F
MD Secretary of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation Kelly Schulz A-
MD Council Member-5 Tom Hucker F
Erik Anderson A
Rachel Audi F
Jay Bala A
Larry Barber A
Roscoe Bartlett A
Jeff Beard D
Roger Bedingfield A
Liz Bobo F
John Bohanan, Jr. B
Joseph Boteler III A
Kirk Bowie A
David Brinkley A
Robert Broadus A
Emmett Burns, Jr. F
Rudolph Cane A
Marcelo Cardarelli B
Jon Cardin F
Kevin Carney A
Eric Cary C
Jeremiah Chiappelli D
Galen Clagett F
Virginia Clagett D
Richard Colburn A
J.Michael Collins, Sr. A
Norman Conway A
Bob Costa A
Chris Davies B
Steven DeBoy, Sr. B+
Scott Dibiasio A
John Donoghue A
Andrew Duck B
Don Dwyer, Jr. A
Roy Dyson A
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. B
Mark Ehrlichmann F
Ron Elfenbein A
Donald Elliott A
Holly Ellison Henderson F
Patricia Fenati B+
John Fiastro A
Jennie Forehand F
William Frank A
Doug Gansler F
Robert Garagiola F
Ron George A
Joe Getty A
Barry Glassman A
Candy Greenway C
Melony Griffith D
Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio B
Hattie Harrison F
Vernon Hayes A
Art Helton, Jr. A
Arthur Hock A
Dee Hodges A
Stephanie Hodges A
Patrick Hogan A
Joe Hooe C
James Hubbard F
Jolene Ivey F
Nancy Jacobs A+
Mary-Dulany James C
Michael James A
Verna Jones-Rodwell F
Wade Kach A
Bruce Kahl F
Henry Kahwaty D
Kevin Kelly A+
Allan Kittleman A
Frank Kratovil, Jr. A
P. Sue Kullen A
Ronald Lohr A
Charles Lollar A
Kyle Lorton A
Mary Ann Love F
James Malone, Jr. A
William Manlove A
Meyer Marks A
Michael McCready A
Mike McDermott A
Patrick McGrady A
Brian McHale F
Cort Meinelschmidt A
Dustin Mills A
Joseph Minnick C
Frank Mirabile, Jr. A
Margaret Moodie A-
Alexander Mooney A+
James Morrow B
LeRoy Ellsworth Myers, Jr. A
Albert Nalley A
Rebecca Nelson A
Doyle Niemann F
John Olszewski, Jr. D-
Martin O'Malley F
Kurt Osuch B-
Maria Pena-Faustino A
Mike Philips A
Al Phillips A
Edward Pipkin A
Mary Beth Pirolozzi D
Brien Poffenberger A
Marla Posey-Moss F
Ed Priola A
Marty Pusey A
Bernard Reiter A
Anita Lombardi Riley F
James Robey F
Jeff Robinson C
Justin Ross F
David Rudolph B
Rick Saffery A
Kristina Sargent D
Steve Schuh A
Norma Secoura C
Christopher Shank A
Luiz Simmons D
Michael Smigiel, Sr. A+
Robert Smith A
Wayne Smith A
James Stanton B
David Starr A
Donna Stifler C
Nancy Stocksdale A
Norman Stone, Jr. A
Melvin Stukes F
Shawn Tarrant F
Justin Towles D
Ryan Trout F
Veronica Turner F
Cathy Vitale B+
Francis Walsh A
Josephine Wang F
Eric Wargotz A
Michael Weir, Jr. A
Jim Wilhelm A
Bill Witham A
John Wood, Jr. B

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.