or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Legion for the Survival of Freedom, Inc. (formerly Liberty Lobby)

1993 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 80%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 70%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 60%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 50%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 0%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 20%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 70%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 80%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 70%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 80%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 10%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 30%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 90%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 10%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 70%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 90%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 90%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 40%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 20%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 70%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 20%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 50%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 10%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 90%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 20%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 10%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 30%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Daniel Coats Republican 40%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 20%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 80%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 70%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 60%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 90%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 10%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 20%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 20%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 10%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 20%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 60%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 60%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 10%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 40%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 30%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 70%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 60%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 10%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 20%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 10%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 80%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 20%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 80%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 30%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 50%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 10%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 50%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 30%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 30%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 20%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 20%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 20%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 20%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 10%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 60%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 30%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 10%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 70%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 10%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 60%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 20%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 60%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 20%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 50%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 10%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 0%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 70%
WI U.S. House 6 Tom Petri Republican 70%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 20%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 30%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 70%
Gary Ackerman 20%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 30%
Wayne Allard 70%
Rob Andrews 40%
Bill Archer 70%
Richard Armey 70%
Henry Scott Baesler 40%
Richard Hugh Baker 50%
William Baker 70%
Cass Ballenger 70%
James Barcia 60%
Bill Barrett 70%
Roscoe Bartlett 70%
Herbert Bateman 50%
Max Baucus 20%
Anthony Beilenson 0%
Bob Bennett 70%
Douglas Bereuter 60%
Howard Berman 0%
Tom Bevill 50%
Michael Bilirakis 60%
Jeff Bingaman 20%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 70%
Peter Blute 60%
Sherwood Boehlert 20%
Kit Bond 50%
Henry Bonilla 70%
David Edward Bonior 30%
Rick Boucher 40%
Bill Bradley 0%
John Breaux 40%
George Brown, Jr. 0%
Hank Brown 50%
Richard Bryan 70%
John Bryant 0%
Dale Bumpers 20%
Jim Bunning 90%
Conrad Burns 70%
Dan Burton 80%
Steve Buyer 70%
Robert Byrd 60%
Herbert Callahan 70%
Ben Campbell 50%
Mike Castle 50%
John Chafee 20%
William Clay, Sr. 20%
Eva Clayton 20%
William Cohen 40%
Ronald Coleman 30%
Barbara-Rose Collins 20%
Cardiss Collins 10%
Michael Collins 90%
Larry Combest 60%
Gary Condit 50%
Kent Conrad 50%
Jerry Costello 60%
Paul Coverdell 60%
Christopher Cox 80%
Larry Craig 80%
Robert Cramer 70%
Philip Crane 70%
Randall Cunningham 70%
Alfonse D'Amato 50%
Patsy Ann Danner 70%
Thomas Daschle 30%
E. Kika de la Garza 40%
Thomas DeLay 70%
Ronald Dellums 20%
Peter Deutsch 10%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 70%
Jay Dickey 60%
Norm Dicks 0%
Julian Dixon 10%
Chris Dodd 10%
Robert Dole 60%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 60%
Calvin Dooley 30%
John Doolittle 90%
Byron Dorgan 40%
Robert Dornan 70%
David Dreier 70%
Jennifer Dunn 60%
Chet Edwards 50%
Bill Emerson 60%
Lane Evans 30%
Terry Everett 90%
Thomas Ewing 60%
Jim Exon 50%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 90%
Harris Fawell 50%
Victor Fazio 0%
Russ Feingold 20%
Cleo Fields 20%
Jack Fields, Jr. 70%
Bob Filner 30%
Floyd Flake 10%
Wendell Ford 40%
Tillie Fowler 50%
Barney Frank 20%
Gary Franks 60%
Robert Franks 40%
Jonas Frost III 20%
Elton Gallegly 70%
Sam Gejdenson 20%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 20%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top