or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Conservative Union

2002 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Todd Akin 100%
Wayne Allard 100%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 100%
Richard Hugh Baker 100%
Bob Bennett 100%
Michael Bilirakis 100%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 100%
Dan Burton 100%
Eric Cantor 100%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 100%
Michael Collins 100%
Larry Craig 100%
Philip Crane 100%
Barbara Cubin 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 100%
James DeMint 100%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 100%
Terry Everett 100%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 100%
William Frist 100%
Elton Gallegly 100%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 100%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 100%
Gilbert Gutknecht 100%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 100%
Joel Hefley 100%
Wally Herger, Jr. 100%
Kay Hutchison 100%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 100%
William Lewis Jenkins 100%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 100%
Ric Keller 100%
Jon Kyl 100%
John Linder 100%
Trent Lott, Sr. 100%
Don Manzullo 100%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 100%
Scott McInnis 100%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 100%
FL U.S. House 1 Jefferson Miller Republican 100%
Don Nickles 100%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 100%
John Peterson 100%
Charles Pickering, Jr. 100%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 100%
Denny Rehberg 100%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 100%
Jim Ryun 100%
Edward Schrock 100%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 100%
John Shadegg 100%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 100%
Tom Tancredo 100%
Craig Thomas 100%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 100%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 100%
David Weldon 100%
KY U.S. House 1 Ed Whitfield Republican 100%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 100%
Cass Ballenger 96%
Roscoe Bartlett 96%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 96%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 96%
Henry Brown, Jr. 96%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 96%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 96%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 96%
Christopher Cox 96%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 96%
Randall Cunningham 96%
Jo Ann Davis 96%
Jo Ann Emerson 96%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 96%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 96%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 96%
Melissa Hart 96%
Robert Hayes 96%
Kenny Hulshof 96%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 96%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 96%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 96%
Mark Kennedy 96%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 96%
Ron Lewis 96%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 96%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 96%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 96%
Sue Myrick 96%
Charles Norwood, Jr. 96%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 96%
Michael Oxley 96%
Richard Pombo 96%
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam Republican 96%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 96%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 96%
Donald Sherwood 96%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 96%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 96%
Cliff Stearns 96%
William Tauzin 96%
Charles Taylor 96%
Todd Tiahrt 96%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 96%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 96%
Zach Wamp 96%
Bill Young 96%
Chris Cannon 95%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 95%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 95%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 95%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 95%
Rick Santorum 95%
Larry Combest 94%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 94%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 92%
Henry Bonilla 92%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 92%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 92%
Thomas DeLay 92%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 92%
Jennifer Dunn 92%
Philip English 92%
Ernest Fletcher 92%
Mark Foley 92%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 92%
Jim Gibbons 92%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 92%
Pete Hoekstra 92%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 92%
Ray LaHood 92%
James McCrery III 92%
George Nethercutt, Jr. 92%
Robert William Ney 92%
James Nussle 92%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 92%
James Ramstad 92%
Thomas Reynolds 92%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 92%
Jim Saxton 92%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 92%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 92%
Nick Smith 92%
John Sununu 92%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 92%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 92%
Gerald Weller 92%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 92%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 92%
Steve Buyer 91%
John Doolittle 91%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 90%
Dick Lugar 90%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 90%
George Voinovich 90%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 89%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 88%
Ben Campbell 88%
Thomas Davis III 88%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 88%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 88%
Paul Gillmor 88%
Mark Green 88%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 88%
David Lee Hobson 88%
Duncan Hunter 88%
Henry Hyde 88%
Sue Kelly 88%
Joseph Knollenberg 88%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 88%
Jerry Lewis 88%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 88%
Anne Northup 88%
Todd Platts 88%
Deborah Pryce 88%
George Radanovich 88%
Ralph Regula 88%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 88%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 88%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 88%
Mark Souder 88%
John Sweeney 88%
NE U.S. House 2 Lee Terry Republican 88%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 86%
John Ensign 85%
Peter Fitzgerald 85%
Judd Gregg 85%
George Allen 84%
Judy Biggert 84%
Kit Bond 84%
David Dreier 84%
Michael Ferguson 84%
Porter Goss 84%
John Nathan Hostettler 84%
KY Commissioner of the Department of Veterans' Affairs Ken Lucas Democratic 84%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top