or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Conservative Union

2002 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 12%
Gary Ackerman 4%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 92%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Todd Akin 100%
Wayne Allard 100%
George Allen 84%
Thomas Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 8%
Joe Baca, Sr. 13%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 100%
Brian Baird 12%
Richard Hugh Baker 100%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
Cass Ballenger 96%
Roscoe Bartlett 96%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 96%
Charlie Bass 80%
Max Baucus 37%
Evan Bayh 30%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
Bob Bennett 100%
Douglas Bereuter 72%
Shelley Berkley 16%
Howard Berman 10%
Marion Berry 32%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 10%
Judy Biggert 84%
Michael Bilirakis 100%
Jeff Bingaman 17%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 40%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 4%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 100%
Sherwood Boehlert 64%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 88%
Kit Bond 84%
Henry Bonilla 92%
Mary Bono Mack 71%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 96%
Leonard Boswell 32%
Rick Boucher 21%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 5%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 40%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 4%
John Breaux 42%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 0%
Henry Brown, Jr. 96%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 4%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 100%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 100%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 96%
Dan Burton 100%
Steve Buyer 91%
Robert Byrd 15%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 92%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 96%
Ben Campbell 88%
Chris Cannon 95%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 100%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 25%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 76%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 12%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 4%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 25%
Brad Carson 40%
Julia Carson 0%
Mike Castle 76%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 96%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 53%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 4%
Hillary Clinton 10%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 0%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 92%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 90%
Michael Collins 100%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 55%
Larry Combest 94%
Kent Conrad 10%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
Jon Corzine 5%
Jerry Costello 36%
Christopher Cox 96%
Larry Craig 100%
Robert Cramer 56%
Philip Crane 100%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 94%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 96%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 8%
Barbara Cubin 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
Randall Cunningham 96%
Thomas Daschle 22%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
James Davis 24%
Jo Ann Davis 96%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 8%
Thomas Davis III 88%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 11%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 12%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
Bill Delahunt 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
Thomas DeLay 92%
James DeMint 100%
Peter Deutsch 12%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 95%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 88%
Norm Dicks 13%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 4%
Chris Dodd 5%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 4%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 88%
Calvin Dooley 24%
John Doolittle 91%
Byron Dorgan 20%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 8%
David Dreier 84%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 92%
Jennifer Dunn 92%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
John Edwards 30%
Chet Edwards 36%
Vern Ehlers 80%
Jo Ann Emerson 96%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 12%
Philip English 92%
John Ensign 85%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 0%
Bob Etheridge 24%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 100%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 0%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 0%
Russ Feingold 5%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 20%
Michael Ferguson 84%
Bob Filner 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 85%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 96%
Ernest Fletcher 92%
Mark Foley 92%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 100%
Harold Ford, Jr. 24%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 92%
Barney Frank 8%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 80%
William Frist 100%
Jonas Frost III 4%
Elton Gallegly 100%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 8%
Jim Gibbons 92%
Wayne Gilchrest 78%
Paul Gillmor 88%
Charlie Gonzalez 0%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 96%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 100%
Bart Gordon 40%
Porter Goss 84%
Daniel Graham 20%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 83%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 96%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 95%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 100%
Mark Green 88%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 16%
James Greenwood 78%
Judd Gregg 85%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 0%
Gilbert Gutknecht 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 88%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 15%
Jane Harman 36%
Melissa Hart 96%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 0%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 92%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 95%
Robert Hayes 96%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 100%
Joel Hefley 100%
Wally Herger, Jr. 100%
Baron Hill 28%
Maurice Hinchey 4%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 20%
David Lee Hobson 88%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 4%
Pete Hoekstra 92%
Thomas Holden 40%
Ernest Hollings 15%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 0%
Darlene Hooley 12%
John Nathan Hostettler 84%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top