or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Conservative Union

2001 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Todd Akin 100%
Wayne Allard 100%
Bob Barr, Jr. 100%
Bob Bennett 100%
Ed Bryant 100%
Jim Bunning 100%
Dan Burton 100%
Chris Cannon 100%
Eric Cantor 100%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 100%
Philip Crane 100%
Barbara Cubin 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
Jo Ann Davis 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 100%
Thomas DeLay 100%
James DeMint 100%
John Doolittle 100%
Terry Everett 100%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 100%
William Frist 100%
James Hansen 100%
J. Dennis Hastert 100%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 100%
Jesse Helms 100%
Duncan Hunter 100%
Ernest Istook, Jr. 100%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 100%
GA U.S. House 1 Jack Kingston Republican 100%
Jon Kyl 100%
Ron Lewis 100%
CA U.S. House 31 Gary Miller Republican 100%
Frank Murkowski 100%
IN Governor Mike Pence Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 16 Joe Pitts Republican 100%
Bob Riley 100%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 100%
Jim Ryun 100%
Rick Santorum 100%
Robert Schaffer 100%
Edward Schrock 100%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 100%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 100%
Bob Smith 100%
Tom Tancredo 100%
Strom Thurmond 100%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 100%
LA U.S. Senate Jr David Vitter Republican 100%
George Allen 96%
Richard Armey 96%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 96%
Richard Hugh Baker 96%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 96%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 96%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 96%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 96%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 96%
Conrad Burns 96%
Steve Buyer 96%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 96%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 96%
Michael Collins 96%
John Cooksey 96%
Christopher Cox 96%
Larry Craig 96%
Randall Cunningham 96%
Ernest Fletcher 96%
Jim Gibbons 96%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 96%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 96%
William Phillip Gramm 96%
Gilbert Gutknecht 96%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 96%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 96%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 96%
Robert Hayes 96%
Joel Hefley 96%
Wally Herger, Jr. 96%
Van Hilleary 96%
Kay Hutchison 96%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 96%
William Lewis Jenkins 96%
Ric Keller 96%
John Linder 96%
Trent Lott, Sr. 96%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 96%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 96%
Sue Myrick 96%
George Nethercutt, Jr. 96%
Anne Northup 96%
Charles Norwood, Jr. 96%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 96%
Charles Pickering, Jr. 96%
Richard Pombo 96%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 96%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 96%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 96%
John Shadegg 96%
Joseph Skeen 96%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 96%
Mark Souder 96%
Cliff Stearns 96%
Bob Stump 96%
William Tauzin 96%
NE U.S. House 2 Lee Terry Republican 96%
Craig Thomas 96%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 96%
Todd Tiahrt 96%
John Warner 96%
Wesley Watkins 96%
Julius Caesar Watts, Jr. 96%
KY U.S. House 1 Ed Whitfield Republican 96%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 96%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 94%
Henry Bonilla 92%
Henry Brown, Jr. 92%
Ben Campbell 92%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 92%
Larry Combest 92%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 92%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 92%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 92%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 92%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 92%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 92%
John Nathan Hostettler 92%
Kenny Hulshof 92%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 92%
Henry Hyde 92%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 92%
Brian Kerns 92%
Joseph Knollenberg 92%
Dick Lugar 92%
Don Manzullo 92%
James McCrery III 92%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 92%
Don Nickles 92%
Michael Oxley 92%
George Radanovich 92%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 92%
Nick Smith 92%
Ted Stevens 92%
John Sununu 92%
Charles Taylor 92%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 92%
David Weldon 92%
Gerald Weller 92%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 91%
Herbert Callahan 91%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 91%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 91%
AK U.S. House At-Large Don Young Republican 91%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 90%
Cass Ballenger 88%
Roscoe Bartlett 88%
Kit Bond 88%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 88%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 88%
Jennifer Dunn 88%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 88%
Elton Gallegly 88%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 88%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 88%
Mark Green 88%
Judd Gregg 88%
Melissa Hart 88%
Pete Hoekstra 88%
GA U.S. Senate Jr Johnny Isakson Republican 88%
Mark Kennedy 88%
CA U.S. House 25 Buck McKeon Republican 88%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 88%
Robert William Ney 88%
James Nussle 88%
John Peterson 88%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 88%
FL Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam Republican 88%
Thomas Reynolds 88%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 88%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 88%
Donald Sherwood 88%
Zach Wamp 88%
Scott McInnis 86%
Michael Bilirakis 84%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 84%
David Dreier 84%
John Ensign 84%
George Gekas 84%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 84%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 84%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 84%
Thomas William Osborne 84%
Denny Rehberg 84%
MI U.S. House 8 Mike Rogers Republican 84%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 84%
Fred Thompson 84%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 84%
Heather Wilson 84%
Jo Ann Emerson 83%
George Voinovich 83%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top