or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Council of Senior Citizens

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
Rick Boucher 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
Robert Byrd 100%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
Thomas Daschle 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
Byron Dorgan 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
Barney Frank 100%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 100%
Henry Gonzalez 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 100%
Daniel Inouye 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 100%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Joseph Kennedy II 100%
Patrick Kennedy 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
Michael McNulty 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
John Moakley 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
Jim Oberstar 100%
Dave Obey 100%
Donald Payne 100%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
Pete Stark 100%
Ed Towns 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
Sidney Yates 100%
Gary Ackerman 90%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 90%
Howard Berman 90%
Marion Berry 90%
Rod Blagojevich 90%
David Edward Bonior 90%
George Brown, Jr. 90%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 90%
Julia Carson 90%
Eva Clayton 90%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 90%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 90%
William Coyne 90%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 90%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 90%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 90%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 90%
Lane Evans 90%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 90%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 90%
Victor Fazio 90%
Russ Feingold 90%
Thomas Foglietta 90%
Harold Ford, Jr. 90%
Wendell Ford 90%
Jonas Frost III 90%
Sam Gejdenson 90%
Maurice Hinchey 90%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 90%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 90%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 90%
William Jefferson 90%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 90%
Jay Johnson 90%
Paul Kanjorski 90%
Dale Kildee 90%
Ronald Klink 90%
John LaFalce 90%
Tom Lantos 90%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 90%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 90%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 90%
Frank Mascara 90%
Carrie Meek 90%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 90%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 90%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 90%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 90%
Alan Mollohan 90%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 90%
Jack Murtha 90%
John Olver 90%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 90%
Major Owens 90%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 90%
Glenn Poshard 90%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 90%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 90%
Steve Rothman 90%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 90%
Martin Olav Sabo 90%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 90%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 90%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 90%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 90%
Louis Stokes 90%
Ted Strickland 90%
Bart Stupak 90%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 90%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 90%
Robert Torricelli 90%
Bruce Vento 90%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 90%
Paul Wellstone 90%
Robert Wexler 90%
Bob Wise, Jr. 90%
Lynn Woolsey 90%
Albert Wynn 90%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 89%
Thomas Allen 89%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 89%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 89%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 89%
Jerry Costello 89%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 89%
Julian Dixon 89%
Elizabeth Furse 89%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 89%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 89%
Robert Matsui 89%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 89%
Silvestre Reyes 89%
David Skaggs 89%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 89%
Esteban Edward Torres 89%
Bob Weygand 89%
Thomas Manton 88%
Ciro Rodriguez 88%
Henry Scott Baesler 80%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 80%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 80%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 80%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 80%
Dale Bumpers 80%
Peter Deutsch 80%
Norm Dicks 80%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 80%
Bob Etheridge 80%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 80%
Tony Hall 80%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 80%
W.G. Hefner 80%
Thomas Holden 80%
Darlene Hooley 80%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 80%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 80%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 80%
Gerald Kleczka 80%
Nicholas Lampson 80%
Matthew Martinez 80%
Karen McCarthy 80%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 80%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 80%
Carol Moseley Braun 80%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 80%
Owen Pickett 80%
Earl Pomeroy 80%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 80%
John Spratt, Jr. 80%
Karen Thurman 80%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 80%
Jeff Bingaman 78%
Chet Edwards 78%
Martin Meehan 78%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 78%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 70%
Robert Clement 70%
James Davis 70%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 70%
Lee Hamilton 70%
Ernest Hollings 70%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top