Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Public Citizen's Congress Watch

1995-1996 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 15%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 24%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 38%
AZ U.S. House 5 Matt Salmon Republican 30%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 86%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 84%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 76%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 69%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 34%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 7%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 26%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 30%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 80%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 73%
FL U.S. House 7 John Mica Republican 15%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 76%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 34%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 23%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 57%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 42%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 14%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 11%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 73%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 80%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Dan Coats Republican 24%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 80%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 7%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 0%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 11%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 88%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 84%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 76%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 80%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 65%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 82%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 73%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 30%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 80%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 96%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 50%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 3%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 76%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 90%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 90%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 15%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 23%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 73%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 42%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 53%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 88%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 23%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 81%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 76%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 34%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 73%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 80%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 73%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 88%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 19%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 34%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 84%
OH Governor John Kasich Republican 26%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 76%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 24%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 10%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 3%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 86%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 60%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 84%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 65%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 26%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 46%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 69%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 30%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 11%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 7%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 7%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 69%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 19%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 61%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 65%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 80%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 73%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 19%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 86%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 88%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 86%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 80%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 38%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett No Party Affiliation 92%
Neil Abercrombie 73%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 19%
Gary Ackerman 69%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 86%
Rob Andrews 65%
Bill Archer 15%
Richard Armey 19%
John Ashcroft 5%
Spencer Bachus 23%
Henry Scott Baesler 57%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 5%
Richard Hugh Baker 15%
William Baker 15%
Cass Ballenger 7%
James Barcia 50%
Bob Barr, Jr. 15%
Bill Barrett 11%
Roscoe Bartlett 23%
Charlie Bass 23%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 3%
Max Baucus 76%
Anthony Beilenson 80%
Bob Bennett 0%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 50%
Douglas Bereuter 23%
Howard Berman 73%
Tom Bevill 30%
Brian Bilbray 34%
Michael Bilirakis 34%
Jeff Bingaman 81%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 7%
Peter Blute 38%
Sherwood Boehlert 46%
John Boehner 7%
Kit Bond 5%
Henry Bonilla 19%
David Edward Bonior 84%
Sonny Bono 15%
Robert Borski, Jr. 88%
Rick Boucher 53%
Bill Bradley 95%
John Breaux 52%
Bill Brewster 26%
Glen Browder 53%
George Brown, Jr. 69%
Hank Brown 19%
Richard Bryan 86%
Ed Bryant 7%
John Bryant 73%
Dale Bumpers 90%
Jim Bunn 23%
Jim Bunning 19%
Conrad Burns 0%
Dan Burton 23%
Steve Buyer 15%
Robert Byrd 90%
Herbert Callahan 3%
Dave Camp 23%
Ben Campbell 14%
Thomas Campbell 73%
Mike Castle 34%
John Chafee 52%
Saxby Chambliss 15%
Jim Chapman 46%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 19%
Jon Lynn Christensen 26%
Dick Chrysler 30%
William Clay, Sr. 84%
Eva Clayton 80%
Robert Clement 50%
William Clinger 7%
Howard Coble 30%
Thomas Coburn 26%
William Cohen 71%
Ronald Coleman 57%
Barbara-Rose Collins 73%
Cardiss Collins 69%
Michael Collins 15%
Larry Combest 15%
Gary Condit 42%
Kent Conrad 81%
Wes Cooley 23%
Jerry Costello 84%
Paul Coverdell 10%
Christopher Cox 19%
William Coyne 88%
Larry Craig 10%
Robert Cramer 42%
Philip Crane 7%
Frank Arnold Cremeans 19%
Barbara Cubin 11%
Randall Cunningham 19%
Alfonse D'Amato 24%
Patsy Ann Danner 42%
Thomas Daschle 86%
Thomas Davis III 23%
Eligio de la Garza II 46%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top