or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Public Citizen's Congress Watch

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 85%
Gary Ackerman 69%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 23%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 94%
Todd Akin 31%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 6%
Rodney Alexander 54%
Wayne Allard 6%
George Allen 0%
Thomas Allen 85%
Rob Andrews 85%
Joe Baca, Sr. 77%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 0%
Brian Baird 62%
Richard Hugh Baker 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 31%
Roscoe Bartlett 0%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
Charlie Bass 15%
Max Baucus 41%
Evan Bayh 59%
Bob Beauprez 0%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 62%
Bob Bennett 0%
Shelley Berkley 46%
Howard Berman 69%
Marion Berry 69%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 76%
Judy Biggert 0%
Michael Bilirakis 0%
Jeff Bingaman 71%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 8%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 54%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 69%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 62%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 0%
Sherwood Boehlert 15%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 0%
Kit Bond 0%
Henry Bonilla 0%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 0%
Mary Bono Mack 0%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 0%
Leonard Boswell 46%
Rick Boucher 54%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 82%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 15%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 8%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 85%
Henry Brown, Jr. 0%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Ginny Brown-Waite 0%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 0%
Conrad Burns 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 8%
Dan Burton 31%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 100%
Steve Buyer 0%
Robert Byrd 82%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 0%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 0%
Chris Cannon 0%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 0%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 76%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 8%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 69%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 92%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 62%
Dennis Cardoza 62%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 41%
Julia Carson 69%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 0%
Edward Case 54%
Mike Castle 15%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 8%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 41%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 12%
Ben Chandler III 40%
Chris Chocola 0%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 77%
Hillary Clinton 76%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 69%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 31%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 0%
Norm Coleman 0%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 29%
Kent Conrad 53%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 92%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 46%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
Jon Corzine 76%
Jerry Costello 77%
Christopher Cox 0%
Larry Craig 12%
Robert Cramer 0%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 18%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 0%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 54%
Barbara Cubin 0%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 8%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 85%
Randall Cunningham 0%
Artur Davis 38%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
James Davis 46%
Jo Ann Davis 23%
Lincoln Davis 15%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 62%
Thomas Davis III 0%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 82%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 15%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 62%
Bill Delahunt 92%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 85%
Thomas DeLay 0%
James DeMint 8%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 0%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 8%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 0%
Norm Dicks 46%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 77%
Chris Dodd 82%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 77%
Elizabeth Dole 18%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
John Doolittle 23%
Byron Dorgan 71%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 62%
David Dreier 0%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 23%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 71%
Chet Edwards 31%
Vern Ehlers 15%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 54%
Jo Ann Emerson 23%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 85%
Philip English 8%
John Ensign 18%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 6%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 54%
Bob Etheridge 54%
Lane Evans 85%
Terry Everett 8%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 85%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 69%
Tom Feeney 8%
Russ Feingold 94%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 71%
Michael Ferguson 0%
Bob Filner 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 23%
Mark Foley 0%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 0%
Harold Ford, Jr. 38%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 8%
Barney Frank 85%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 0%
William Frist 6%
Elton Gallegly 0%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 8%
PA U.S. House 6 Jim Gerlach Republican 0%
Jim Gibbons 8%
Wayne Gilchrest 8%
Paul Gillmor 15%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 8%
Charlie Gonzalez 46%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 31%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 0%
Bart Gordon 38%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 35%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 0%
Mark Green 31%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 62%
Judd Gregg 29%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 92%
Gilbert Gutknecht 23%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 12%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 82%
Jane Harman 46%
Katherine Harris 0%
Melissa Hart 0%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 92%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Robert Hayes 31%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 8%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top