or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Public Citizen's Congress Watch

2001-2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 91%
Gary Ackerman 82%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 9%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 80%
Todd Akin 5%
Wayne Allard 0%
George Allen 4%
Thomas Allen 86%
Rob Andrews 82%
Joe Baca, Sr. 77%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 5%
Brian Baird 77%
Richard Hugh Baker 5%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 91%
Cass Ballenger 5%
Roscoe Bartlett 14%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 5%
Charlie Bass 27%
Max Baucus 62%
Evan Bayh 65%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 82%
Bob Bennett 0%
Douglas Bereuter 14%
Shelley Berkley 82%
Howard Berman 95%
Marion Berry 82%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 77%
Judy Biggert 5%
Michael Bilirakis 9%
Jeff Bingaman 68%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 64%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 86%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 5%
Sherwood Boehlert 36%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 5%
Kit Bond 4%
Henry Bonilla 5%
Mary Bono Mack 14%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 0%
Leonard Boswell 73%
Rick Boucher 59%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 92%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 55%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 5%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 82%
John Breaux 31%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 77%
Henry Brown, Jr. 5%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 86%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 15%
Jim Bunning 0%
Conrad Burns 8%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 5%
Dan Burton 5%
Steve Buyer 9%
Robert Byrd 77%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 9%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 9%
Ben Campbell 19%
Chris Cannon 5%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 5%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 81%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 27%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 82%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 91%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 82%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 62%
Brad Carson 55%
Julia Carson 86%
Mike Castle 32%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 9%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 58%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 9%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 82%
Hillary Clinton 96%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 68%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 18%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 19%
Michael Collins 14%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 50%
Larry Combest 9%
Kent Conrad 81%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 95%
Jon Corzine 96%
Jerry Costello 73%
Christopher Cox 5%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 36%
Philip Crane 5%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 4%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 9%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 91%
Barbara Cubin 5%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 5%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 86%
Randall Cunningham 9%
Thomas Daschle 81%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 86%
James Davis 68%
Jo Ann Davis 14%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 82%
Thomas Davis III 9%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 92%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 9%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 95%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 86%
Bill Delahunt 77%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 91%
Thomas DeLay 5%
James DeMint 5%
Peter Deutsch 82%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 15%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 14%
Norm Dicks 68%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 77%
Chris Dodd 92%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 95%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 12%
Calvin Dooley 41%
John Doolittle 14%
Byron Dorgan 81%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 82%
David Dreier 5%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 18%
Jennifer Dunn 5%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 92%
John Edwards 81%
Chet Edwards 64%
Vern Ehlers 14%
Jo Ann Emerson 18%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 82%
Philip English 9%
John Ensign 15%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 4%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 86%
Bob Etheridge 68%
Lane Evans 91%
Terry Everett 5%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 91%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 77%
Russ Feingold 88%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 81%
Michael Ferguson 23%
Bob Filner 91%
Peter Fitzgerald 36%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 14%
Ernest Fletcher 5%
Mark Foley 27%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 0%
Harold Ford, Jr. 73%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 9%
Barney Frank 95%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 18%
William Frist 4%
Jonas Frost III 82%
Elton Gallegly 14%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 86%
Jim Gibbons 9%
Wayne Gilchrest 18%
Paul Gillmor 5%
Charlie Gonzalez 68%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 18%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 9%
Bart Gordon 64%
Porter Goss 5%
Daniel Graham 69%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 27%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 5%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 15%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 5%
Mark Green 14%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 77%
James Greenwood 14%
Judd Gregg 12%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 77%
Gilbert Gutknecht 18%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 12%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 14%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 92%
Jane Harman 73%
Melissa Hart 9%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 82%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 5%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 4%
Robert Hayes 9%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 5%
Joel Hefley 9%
Wally Herger, Jr. 5%
Baron Hill 64%
Maurice Hinchey 91%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 64%
David Lee Hobson 5%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 86%
Pete Hoekstra 18%
Thomas Holden 55%
Ernest Hollings 73%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 91%
Darlene Hooley 82%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top