Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Alliance for Better Business

2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Richard Alarcón 100%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 100%
Betty Karnette 100%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz Democratic 100%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 100%
John Longville 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Sarah Reyes 100%
Gloria Romero 100%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 100%
Rebecca Cohn 94%
Manny Diaz 94%
Christine Kehoe 94%
Jenny Oropeza 94%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 94%
Simón Salinas 94%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 94%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 94%
Patricia Wiggins 94%
Deirdre Alpert 93%
John Burton 93%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 93%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 93%
Joseph Dunn 93%
Don Perata 93%
Byron Sher 93%
Nell Soto 93%
John Vasconcellos 93%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 88%
Jerome Horton 88%
Joseph Nation 88%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 88%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 88%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 86%
Kevin Murray 85%
Edward Vincent 83%
Edward Chavez 81%
Dean Florez 81%
Dario Frommer 81%
Martha Escutia 79%
Deborah Ortiz 79%
Jack Scott 79%
John Anthony Dutra 75%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 73%
Joseph Canciamilla 69%
Michael Machado 64%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 63%
George Nakano 63%
Barbara Matthews 50%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 19%
Samuel Aanestad 13%
Roy Ashburn 13%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 7%
Russell Bogh 6%
Dave Cox 6%
Tom Harman 6%
Dennis Hollingsworth 6%
Jay La Suer 6%
Robert Leslie 6%
Ken Maddox 6%
Abel Maldonado 6%
Tony Strickland 6%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Pat Bates 0%
James Battin 0%
James Brulte 0%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 0%
Lynn Daucher 0%
William Knight 0%
Bob Margett 0%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 0%
William Phillip Morrow 0%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 0%
Thomas Oller 0%
Robert Pacheco 0%
Charles Poochigian 0%
Keith Stuart Richman 0%
George Runner, Jr. 0%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top