Rating Group: Alliance for Better Business

2001 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 0%
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 85%
CA U.S. House-16 Jim Costa D 38%
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 100%
CA U.S. House-29 Tony Cardenas D 77%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 92%
CA U.S. House-45 John Campbell III R 0%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 100%
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 92%
CA State Assembly-2 Wesley Chesbro D 93%
CA State Senate-6 Darrell Steinberg D 100%
CA State Senate-10 Ellen Corbett D 100%
CA State Senate-19 Hannah-Beth Jackson D 100%
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 92%
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 100%
CA State Senate-34 Lou Correa D 69%
CA State Senate-35 Roderick Wright D 77%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 0%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen D 100%
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan D 100%
CA Supervisor-4 Dick Monteith 0%
CA Supervisor-5 Bruce McPherson 15%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 92%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 85%
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz D 100%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 0%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 100%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Deirdre Alpert 92%
Elaine Alquist 93%
Dion Aroner 100%
Roy Ashburn 0%
Patricia Bates 0%
James Battin 0%
Russell Bogh 0%
Mike Briggs 0%
James Brulte 0%
John Burton 100%
Thomas Calderon 85%
Bill Campbell 0%
Joseph Canciamilla 69%
Dennis Cardoza 69%
Edward Chavez 71%
Rebecca Cohn 69%
Dave Cox 0%
Lynn Daucher 7%
Manny Diaz 92%
Richard Dickerson 0%
Joseph Dunn 100%
John Anthony Dutra 80%
Martha Escutia 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 92%
Dean Florez 100%
Dario Frommer 71%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 0%
Sally Havice 100%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%
Robert Hertzberg 92%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Jerome Horton 85%
K. Maurice Johannessen 0%
Ross Johnson 0%
Betty Karnette 100%
Fred Keeley 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
David Kelley 0%
William Knight 0%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
Jay La Suer 0%
Lynne Leach 8%
Bill Leonard 7%
Robert Leslie 0%
John Longville 100%
Michael Machado 62%
Ken Maddox 8%
Abel Maldonado 8%
Bob Margett 0%
Barbara Matthews 69%
Carole Migden 100%
William Phillip Morrow 0%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 15%
Kevin Murray 100%
George Nakano 100%
Joseph Nation 77%
Jack O'Connell 100%
Jenny Oropeza 92%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Robert Pacheco 0%
Rod Pacheco 0%
Louis Papan 46%
Steve Peace 71%
Don Perata 85%
Anthony Pescetti 15%
Richard Polanco 92%
Charles Poochigian 0%
Sarah Reyes 92%
Keith Stuart Richman 0%
Gloria Romero 100%
George Runner, Jr. 0%
Simón Salinas 85%
Jack Scott 85%
Kevin Shelley 100%
Byron Sher 93%
Nell Soto 100%
Tony Strickland 0%
Virginia Strom-Martin 100%
Helen Thomson 85%
John Vasconcellos 85%
Edward Vincent 100%
Carl Washington 100%
Howard Wayne 87%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 100%
Patricia Wiggins 93%
Phillip Wyman 0%
Charlene Zettel 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.