or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Children's Defense Fund Minnesota

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Ellen Anderson 100%
MN State House 52B Joseph Atkins Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Linda Berglin 100%
MN State House 41A Connie Bernardy Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Donald Betzold 100%
Len Biernat 100%
MN State House 45A Lyndon Carlson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Satveer Chaudhary 100%
MN State House 62A Karen Clark Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State Senate 64 Richard Cohen Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 63A Jim Davnie Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State Senate 61 D. Scott Dibble Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Matt Entenza 100%
Leo Foley 100%
MN State Senate 41 Barbara Goodwin Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Mindy Greiling 100%
MN State House 66A Alice Hausman Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Linda Higgins 100%
Bill Hilty 100%
MN State House 61A Frank Hornstein Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Mike Jaros 100%
Dean Elton Johnson 100%
MN State House 67B Sheldon Johnson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 60B Phyllis Kahn Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Steve Kelley 100%
Margaret Kelliher 100%
Gary Kubly 100%
MN State Senate 46 Ronald Latz Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 66B John Lesch Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Becky Lourey 100%
MN State House 67A Tim Mahoney Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 65B Carlos Mariani Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Sharon Marko 100%
MN State Senate 66 John Marty Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Mee Moua 100%
MN State House 59A Joe Mullery Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Steve Murphy 100%
MN State Senate 65 Sandra Pappas Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 64B Michael Paymar Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Aaron Peterson 100%
Lawrence Pogemiller 100%
MN Lieutenant Governor Prettner Solon Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Thomas Pugh 100%
Jane Ranum 100%
Linda Scheid 100%
MN State Senate 54 Katie Sieben Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State Senate 2 Rod Skoe Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Wesley Skoglund 100%
Nora Slawik 100%
MN State Senate 27 Daniel Sparks Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Cy Thao 100%
MN State House 61B Paul Thissen Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 63B Jean Wagenius Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Neva Walker 100%
Scott Wasiluk 100%
MN State Senate 43 Charles Wiger Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Irv Anderson 92%
John Dorn 92%
MN State House 40B Debra Hilstrom Democratic/Farmer/Labor 92%
Al Juhnke 92%
Bernard Lieder 92%
MN State Senate 4 Kent Eken Democratic/Farmer/Labor 91%
MN State House 7A Thomas Huntley Democratic/Farmer/Labor 91%
Dan Larson 91%
MN State House 40A Michael Nelson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 91%
MN State Auditor Rebecca Otto Democratic/Farmer/Labor 91%
Tom Rukavina 91%
Anthony Sertich 91%
Loren Solberg 91%
MN State Senate 3 Thomas Bakk Democratic/Farmer/Labor 88%
Keith Langseth 88%
Dallas Sams 88%
MN State Senate 5 Tom Saxhaug Democratic/Farmer/Labor 88%
MN State Senate 1 LeRoy Stumpf Democratic/Farmer/Labor 88%
MN State Senate 6 David Tomassoni Democratic/Farmer/Labor 88%
James Vickerman 86%
MN State House 3A David Dill Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
MN State Senate 17 Lyle Koenen Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
MN State House 50B Ann Lenczewski Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
Joe Opatz 83%
Mary Otremba 83%
MN State House 28A Eugene Pelowski, Jr. Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
MN State House 3B Mary Murphy Democratic/Farmer/Labor 82%
John Hottinger 75%
MN State Senate 52 James Metzen Democratic/Farmer/Labor 75%
MN State Senate 45 Ann Rest Democratic/Farmer/Labor 75%
MN State House 4B Paul Marquart Democratic/Farmer/Labor 67%
Dan Dorman 64%
Mark Olson 58%
Jim Rhodes 58%
Lynne Osterman 36%
Ron Abrams 33%
Ray Cox 33%
MN State House 49A Ron Erhardt Democratic/Farmer/Labor 33%
Sheila Kiscaden 33%
Doug Lindgren 33%
MN State House 18A Dean Urdahl Republican 33%
Jeff Anderson 27%
Laura Brod 25%
MN State House 23B Tony Cornish Republican 25%
Jerry Dempsey 25%
Douglas Fuller 25%
MN State Senate 29 Bruce Anderson Republican 17%
Morrie Lanning 17%
Doug Magnus 17%
MN State House 54B Denny McNamara Republican 17%
MN State Senate 18 Scott Newman Republican 17%
Char Samuelson 17%
Daniel Severson 17%
Steve Smith 17%
Kathy Tingelstad 17%
Lynn Wardlow 17%
William Belanger, Jr. 14%
Paul Koering 14%
Stephen Dille 13%
Dennis Frederickson 13%
Bill Haas 13%
MN State Senate 34 Warren Limmer Republican 13%
Geoff Michel 13%
Patricia Pariseau 13%
Doug Meslow 10%
Duke Powell 10%
Connie Ruth 10%
MN State House 55A Michael Beard Republican 9%
MN State House 28B Greg Davids Republican 9%
MN State House 23A Bob Gunther Republican 9%
Elaine Harder 9%
Stephanie Olsen 9%
Andrew Westerberg 9%
MN State Senate 12 Torrey Westrom Republican 9%
MN State House 34B Kurt Zellers Republican 9%
MN State House 35A Jim Abeler II Republican 8%
Peter Adolphson 8%
Greg Blaine 8%
Dick Borrell 8%
Lynda Boudreau 8%
Francis Bradley 8%
Mark Buesgens 8%
Chris DeLaForest 8%
Randy Demmer 8%
Robert Eastlund 8%
MN State House 15A Sondra Erickson Republican 8%
Brad Finstad 8%
Chris Gerlach 8%
MN State House 31B Tom Hackbarth Republican 8%
Bud Heidgerken 8%
MN State House 47B Joe Hoppe Republican 8%
Larry Howes 8%
Carl Jacobson 8%
MN Commissioner 7 Jeff Johnson Republican 8%
Karen Klinzing 8%
Jim Knoblach 8%
Paul Kohls 8%
Philip Krinkie 8%
Bill Kuisle 8%
Arlon Lindner 8%
Eric Lipman 8%
MN State Senate 26 Carla Nelson Republican 8%
Peter Nelson 8%
MN State House 8A Bud Nornes Republican 8%
Dennis Ozment 8%
MN U.S. House 3 Erik Paulsen Republican 8%
Maxine Penas 8%
Marty Seifert 8%
Dean Simpson 8%
Judy Soderstrom 8%
Doug Stang 8%
Steve Strachan 8%
Steven Sviggum 8%
Howard Swenson 8%
Ray Vandeveer 8%
Dale Walz 8%
Tim Wilkin 8%
MN U.S. House 6 Michele Bachmann Republican 0%
Richard Day 0%
MN State Senate 13 Michelle Fischbach Republican 0%
David Gaither 0%
MN State Senate 48 David Hann Republican 0%
MN State House 58A Mary Holberg Republican 0%
Debbie Johnson 0%
Michael Jungbauer 0%
Bob Kierlin 0%
Dave Kleis 0%
Cal Larson 0%
Brian LeClair 0%
Mike McGinn 0%
Thomas Neuville 0%
MN State Senate 32 Sean Nienow Republican 0%
Gen Olson 0%
MN State Senate 47 Julianne Ortman Republican 0%
Mark Ourada 0%
Madelyn Reiter 0%
Claire Robling 0%
MN State Senate 23 Julie Rosen Republican 0%
MN State Senate 10 Carrie Ruud Republican 0%
MN State Senate 25 David Senjem Republican 0%
Barbara Sykora 0%
Betsy Wergin 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top