Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Children's Defense Fund Minnesota

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MN State House 35A Jim Abeler II Republican 8%
Ron Abrams 33%
Peter Adolphson 8%
MN State Senate 29 Bruce Anderson Republican 17%
Ellen Anderson 100%
Irv Anderson 92%
Jeff Anderson 27%
MN State House 52B Joseph Atkins Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN U.S. House 6 Michele Bachmann Republican 0%
MN State Senate 3 Thomas Bakk Democratic/Farmer/Labor 88%
MN State House 55A Michael Beard Republican 9%
William Belanger, Jr. 14%
Linda Berglin 100%
MN State House 41A Connie Bernardy Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Donald Betzold 100%
Len Biernat 100%
Greg Blaine 8%
Dick Borrell 8%
Lynda Boudreau 8%
Francis Bradley 8%
Laura Brod 25%
Mark Buesgens 8%
MN State House 45A Lyndon Carlson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Satveer Chaudhary 100%
MN State House 62A Karen Clark Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State Senate 64 Richard Cohen Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 23B Tony Cornish Republican 25%
Ray Cox 33%
MN State House 28B Greg Davids Republican 9%
MN State House 63A Jim Davnie Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Richard Day 0%
Chris DeLaForest 8%
Randy Demmer 8%
Jerry Dempsey 25%
MN State Senate 61 D. Scott Dibble Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 3A David Dill Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
Stephen Dille 13%
Dan Dorman 64%
John Dorn 92%
Robert Eastlund 8%
MN State Senate 4 Kent Eken Democratic/Farmer/Labor 91%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Matt Entenza 100%
MN State House 49A Ron Erhardt Democratic/Farmer/Labor 33%
MN State House 15A Sondra Erickson Republican 8%
Brad Finstad 8%
MN State Senate 13 Michelle Fischbach Republican 0%
Leo Foley 100%
Dennis Frederickson 13%
Douglas Fuller 25%
David Gaither 0%
Chris Gerlach 8%
MN State Senate 41 Barbara Goodwin Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Mindy Greiling 100%
MN State House 23A Bob Gunther Republican 9%
Bill Haas 13%
MN State House 31B Tom Hackbarth Republican 8%
MN State Senate 48 David Hann Republican 0%
Elaine Harder 9%
MN State House 66A Alice Hausman Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Bud Heidgerken 8%
Linda Higgins 100%
MN State House 40B Debra Hilstrom Democratic/Farmer/Labor 92%
Bill Hilty 100%
MN State House 58A Mary Holberg Republican 0%
MN State House 47B Joe Hoppe Republican 8%
MN State House 61A Frank Hornstein Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
John Hottinger 75%
Larry Howes 8%
MN State House 7A Thomas Huntley Democratic/Farmer/Labor 91%
Carl Jacobson 8%
Mike Jaros 100%
Dean Elton Johnson 100%
Debbie Johnson 0%
MN Commissioner 7 Jeff Johnson Republican 8%
MN State House 67B Sheldon Johnson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Al Juhnke 92%
Michael Jungbauer 0%
MN State House 60B Phyllis Kahn Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Steve Kelley 100%
Margaret Kelliher 100%
Bob Kierlin 0%
Sheila Kiscaden 33%
Dave Kleis 0%
Karen Klinzing 8%
Jim Knoblach 8%
MN State Senate 17 Lyle Koenen Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
Paul Koering 14%
Paul Kohls 8%
Philip Krinkie 8%
Gary Kubly 100%
Bill Kuisle 8%
Keith Langseth 88%
Morrie Lanning 17%
Cal Larson 0%
Dan Larson 91%
MN State Senate 46 Ronald Latz Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Brian LeClair 0%
MN State House 50B Ann Lenczewski Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
MN State House 66B John Lesch Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Bernard Lieder 92%
MN State Senate 34 Warren Limmer Republican 13%
Doug Lindgren 33%
Arlon Lindner 8%
Eric Lipman 8%
Becky Lourey 100%
Doug Magnus 17%
MN State House 67A Tim Mahoney Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 65B Carlos Mariani Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Sharon Marko 100%
MN State House 4B Paul Marquart Democratic/Farmer/Labor 67%
MN State Senate 66 John Marty Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Mike McGinn 0%
MN State House 54B Denny McNamara Republican 17%
Doug Meslow 10%
MN State Senate 52 James Metzen Democratic/Farmer/Labor 75%
Geoff Michel 13%
Mee Moua 100%
MN State House 59A Joe Mullery Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 3B Mary Murphy Democratic/Farmer/Labor 82%
Steve Murphy 100%
MN State Senate 26 Carla Nelson Republican 8%
MN State House 40A Michael Nelson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 91%
Peter Nelson 8%
Thomas Neuville 0%
MN State Senate 18 Scott Newman Republican 17%
MN State Senate 32 Sean Nienow Republican 0%
MN State House 8A Bud Nornes Republican 8%
Stephanie Olsen 9%
Gen Olson 0%
Mark Olson 58%
Joe Opatz 83%
MN State Senate 47 Julianne Ortman Republican 0%
Lynne Osterman 36%
Mary Otremba 83%
MN Auditor Rebecca Otto Democratic/Farmer/Labor 91%
Mark Ourada 0%
Dennis Ozment 8%
MN State Senate 65 Sandra Pappas Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Patricia Pariseau 13%
MN U.S. House 3 Erik Paulsen Republican 8%
MN State House 64B Michael Paymar Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
MN State House 28A Eugene Pelowski, Jr. Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
Maxine Penas 8%
Aaron Peterson 100%
Lawrence Pogemiller 100%
Duke Powell 10%
MN Lieutenant Governor Prettner Solon Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Thomas Pugh 100%
Jane Ranum 100%
Madelyn Reiter 0%
MN State Senate 45 Ann Rest Democratic/Farmer/Labor 75%
Jim Rhodes 58%
Claire Robling 0%
MN State Senate 23 Julie Rosen Republican 0%
Tom Rukavina 91%
Connie Ruth 10%
MN State Senate 10 Carrie Ruud Republican 0%
Dallas Sams 88%
Char Samuelson 17%
MN State Senate 5 Tom Saxhaug Democratic/Farmer/Labor 88%
Linda Scheid 100%
Marty Seifert 8%
MN State Senate 25 David Senjem Republican 0%
Anthony Sertich 91%
Daniel Severson 17%
MN State Senate 54 Katie Sieben Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Dean Simpson 8%
MN State Senate 2 Rod Skoe Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Wesley Skoglund 100%
Nora Slawik 100%
Steve Smith 17%
Judy Soderstrom 8%
Loren Solberg 91%
MN State Senate 27 Daniel Sparks Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Doug Stang 8%
Steve Strachan 8%
MN State Senate 1 LeRoy Stumpf Democratic/Farmer/Labor 88%
Steven Sviggum 8%
Howard Swenson 8%
Barbara Sykora 0%
Cy Thao 100%
MN State House 61B Paul Thissen Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Kathy Tingelstad 17%
MN State Senate 6 David Tomassoni Democratic/Farmer/Labor 88%
MN State House 18A Dean Urdahl Republican 33%
Ray Vandeveer 8%
James Vickerman 86%
MN State House 63B Jean Wagenius Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Neva Walker 100%
Dale Walz 8%
Lynn Wardlow 17%
Scott Wasiluk 100%
Betsy Wergin 0%
Andrew Westerberg 9%
MN State Senate 12 Torrey Westrom Republican 9%
MN State Senate 43 Charles Wiger Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
Tim Wilkin 8%
MN State House 34B Kurt Zellers Republican 9%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top