or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Montana Shooting Sports Association

2008 Positions on Gun Rights

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
Shiell Anderson D
MT State House 43 Duane Ankney Republican A
MT State Senate 27 Elsie Arntzen Republican A
MT State Senate 8 Shannon Augare Democratic D
Kyle Austin A
Joe Balyeat A
Patricia Banister B
MT State Senate 36 Debby Barrett Republican A
Max Baucus D
Russell Bean A
William Beck, Sr. A
Arlene Becker F
Bob Bergren D
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic F
MT State House 10 Mark Blasdel Republican A
Scott Boggio A
John Bohlinger F
Joel Boniek A
Debra Bonogofsky C
Gary Branae F
MT State Senate 18 John Brenden Republican A
MT State Senate 2 Dee Brown Republican B
Roy Brown A
MT State Senate 22 Taylor Brown Republican A
John Brueggeman A
Tom Burnett A
Edward Butcher A
Margarett Campbell B
Ken Champion A
Paul Clark B
Jill Cohenour F
Jedediah Cox A
Gaspard Deschamps, Jr. A
Sue Dickenson F
Steve Dogiakos A
Neal Donaldson A
Michael Donohue A
John Driscoll F
MT State Senate 26 Robyn Driscoll Democratic F
Robert Dwyer B
Robert Ebinger, Jr. D
Jim Elliott D
Ron Erickson F
Steven Eschenbacher B
Nick Ethridge B
Julie French D
Linda Frey A
John Fuller B
Tim Furey F
Steven Gallus D
Kim Gillan F
William Glaser A
Tod Glenn A
NC State Senate 40 Malcolm Graham Democratic B
Wanda Grinde F
George Groesbeck D
Robin Hamilton D
Betsy Hands F
Jeff Harding A
Ray Hawk A
Robert Hawks F
Gordon Hendrick A
Teresa Henry F
Dewey Hill B
Dennis Himmelberger A
Cynthia Hiner B
Greg Hinkle A
MT State House 28 Roy Hollandsworth Republican B
MT State House 81 Galen Hollenbaugh Democratic F
MT State House 24 Brian Hoven Republican A
MT State House 60 David Howard Republican A
MT State House 13 Pat Ingraham Republican A
Loren Jenkins A
Johnson A
John Johnson A
MT State Senate 14 Llewelyn Jones Republican A
Mike Jopek F
Bill Joseph C
MT State House 48 Douglas Kary Republican B
Dave Kasten A
MT State Senate 41 Christine Kaufmann Democratic F
MT State Senate 38 Jim Keane Democratic D
MT State House 58 Krayton Kerns Republican A
Harry Klock A
Deborah Kottel A
MT Public Service Commission Vice Chair Bob Lake Republican A
Lane Larson F
Jesse Laslovich F
Kirk Lundby A
Gary MacLaren A
Nick Mahan B
NC State House 34 Grier Martin Democratic A
Dave McAlpin F
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican D
MT State House 40 Bill McChesney Democratic F
Tom McGillvray A
Walter McNutt A
Scott Mendenhall A
Mike Milburn A
MT State House 84 Mike Miller Republican A
Carol Minjares A
Michael More A
Penny Armstrong Morgan A
Lynda Moss F
Dick Motta A
Bill Nooney B
NA President Barack Obama II Democratic F
MT State House 18 Jesse O'Hara Republican B
Lance Olson B
Sarah Palin A
Ron Paul A+
Michael Peroutka A
Kenneth Peterson A
MT State Senate 33 Mike Phillips Democratic F
MT State House 66 Jennifer Pomnichowski Democratic F
MT State House 39 Lee Randall Republican A
MT State House 5 Keith Regier Republican A
Denny Rehberg A
Michele Reinhart F
MT State Senate 9 Rick Ripley Republican A
Donald Roberts B
Wayne Root A
MT State Senate 34 Scott Sales Republican A
Diane Sands F
Jack Sands B
Randen Schoppe B
William Schubert A
Brian Schweitzer C
MT State Senate 37 Jon Sesso Democratic F
Jim Shockley A
Dorothy Simpson B
John Sinrud A
MT State House 55 Cary Smith Republican A
MT State Senate 4 Jon Sonju Republican A
Wayne Stahl A
Donald Steinbeisser A
Ronald Stoker A
MT State Senate 6 Janna Taylor Republican A
Rick Tryon A
MT State Senate 3 Bruce Tutvedt Republican B
MT State House 67 Gordon Vance Republican A
Scott Vandevender, Sr. A
MT Budget Director Dan Villa Democratic F
MT State Senate 1 Chas Vincent Republican A
MT State House 34 Wendy Warburton Republican A
MT State House 69 Ted Washburn Republican B
MT State House 72 Jeffrey Welborn Republican A
James Whitaker A
Carol Williams F
MT State House 63 Franke Wilmer Democratic F
Bill Wilson F
Brady Wiseman F
Craig Witte A
Ryan Zinke B

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top