Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Immigration Control

1996-1998 Positions

Issues: Immigration
State Office District Name Party Rating
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 25%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 25%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 0%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 0%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 0%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 25%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 25%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 25%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 25%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 0%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 25%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 0%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 25%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 25%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 0%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 0%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 0%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 0%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 25%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 0%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 0%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 25%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 25%
Wayne Allard 0%
John Ashcroft 0%
Max Baucus 25%
Bob Bennett 0%
Jeff Bingaman 0%
Kit Bond 0%
John Breaux 0%
Richard Bryan 25%
Conrad Burns 25%
Robert Byrd 75%
Ben Campbell 0%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 0%
Kent Conrad 0%
Larry Craig 0%
Thomas Daschle 0%
Chris Dodd 0%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
Byron Dorgan 0%
Russ Feingold 25%
William Frist 0%
Slade Gorton 0%
Daniel Graham 0%
William Phillip Gramm 25%
Rodney Grams 0%
Judd Gregg 0%
Jesse Helms 0%
Ernest Hollings 25%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 66%
Kay Hutchison 0%
Daniel Inouye 0%
James Merrill Jeffords 25%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 25%
Bob Kerrey 0%
Herb Kohl 0%
Jon Kyl 25%
Frank Lautenberg 0%
Joe Lieberman 0%
Trent Lott, Sr. 25%
Dick Lugar 0%
Connie Mack 0%
Patrick Moynihan 25%
Frank Murkowski 0%
Don Nickles 0%
Charles Robb 0%
William Roth, Jr. 25%
Rick Santorum 0%
Paul Sarbanes 25%
Gordon Smith 0%
Bob Smith 0%
Olympia Snowe 0%
Arlen Specter 0%
Ted Stevens 0%
Craig Thomas 66%
Fred Thompson 0%
Strom Thurmond 0%
Robert Torricelli 33%
John Warner 0%
Paul Wellstone 25%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top