or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: AIDS United

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
Thomas Allen 100%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Howard Berman 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
David Edward Bonior 100%
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
George Brown, Jr. 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Julia Carson 100%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Peter Deutsch 100%
Norm Dicks 100%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
Julian Dixon 100%
Calvin Dooley 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Sam Gejdenson 100%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 100%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
Darlene Hooley 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
William Jefferson 100%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
Tom Lantos 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
James Maloney 100%
Robert Matsui 100%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Martin Meehan 100%
Carrie Meek 100%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
John Moakley 100%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 100%
Constance Morella 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
Dave Obey 100%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
Donald Payne 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 100%
Steve Rothman 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 100%
Vic Snyder 100%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 100%
Pete Stark 100%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 100%
Ed Towns 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
Bruce Vento 100%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
Robert Wexler 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Albert Wynn 100%
Gary Ackerman 90%
Rob Andrews 90%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 90%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 90%
Thomas Campbell 90%
Eva Clayton 90%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 90%
Bob Filner 90%
Barney Frank 90%
Jonas Frost III 90%
Nancy Johnson 90%
Paul Kanjorski 90%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 90%
Patrick Kennedy 90%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 90%
Nicholas Lampson 90%
Matthew Martinez 90%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 90%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 90%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 90%
Christopher Shays 90%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 90%
Karen Thurman 90%
Bob Weygand 90%
Mark Foley 88%
Harold Ford, Jr. 88%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 88%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 87%
John Ganske 81%
Ellen Tauscher 81%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 80%
Max Baucus 80%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 80%
Marion Berry 80%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 80%
Jeff Bingaman 80%
Rod Blagojevich 80%
Sherwood Boehlert 80%
Rick Boucher 80%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 80%
John Breaux 80%
Richard Bryan 80%
Robert Byrd 80%
John Chafee 80%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 80%
Kent Conrad 80%
Thomas Daschle 80%
James Davis 80%
Chris Dodd 80%
Byron Dorgan 80%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 80%
Russ Feingold 80%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 80%
Daniel Graham 80%
James Greenwood 80%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 80%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 80%
Ernest Hollings 80%
James Merrill Jeffords 80%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 80%
Bob Kerrey 80%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 80%
Gerald Kleczka 80%
Herb Kohl 80%
James Kolbe 80%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 80%
Frank Lautenberg 80%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 80%
Joe Lieberman 80%
Karen McCarthy 80%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 80%
Patrick Moynihan 80%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 80%
Jim Oberstar 80%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 80%
Charles Robb 80%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 80%
Paul Sarbanes 80%
Robert Torricelli 80%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 80%
Daniel Inouye 75%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 75%
Arlen Specter 75%
Paul Wellstone 75%
Gary Condit 72%
Mike Castle 70%
Robert Clement 70%
Chet Edwards 70%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 70%
Stephen Horn 70%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 70%
Dale Kildee 70%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top