or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Civil Liberties Union

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
Henry Gonzalez 100%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 94%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 94%
Lane Evans 94%
Barney Frank 94%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 94%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 94%
Martin Meehan 94%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 94%
John Olver 94%
Major Owens 94%
Donald Payne 94%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 94%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 94%
Martin Olav Sabo 94%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 94%
Louis Stokes 94%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 94%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 94%
Mel Watt 94%
William Clay, Sr. 93%
Julian Dixon 93%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 93%
Elizabeth Furse 93%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 93%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 93%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 93%
Carrie Meek 93%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 93%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 93%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 93%
David Skaggs 93%
Pete Stark 93%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 93%
Lynn Woolsey 93%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 92%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 89%
Gary Ackerman 88%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 88%
Howard Berman 88%
William Coyne 88%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 88%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 88%
Bill Delahunt 88%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 88%
Victor Fazio 88%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 88%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 88%
Patrick Kennedy 88%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 88%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 88%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 88%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 88%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 88%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 87%
George Brown, Jr. 87%
Eva Clayton 87%
Norm Dicks 87%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 87%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 87%
Maurice Hinchey 87%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 87%
Matthew Martinez 87%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 87%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 87%
Jim Oberstar 87%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 87%
Julia Carson 86%
Bob Filner 86%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 86%
Ed Towns 86%
Jeff Bingaman 83%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 83%
Richard Bryan 83%
Dale Bumpers 83%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 83%
John Chafee 83%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 83%
Chris Dodd 83%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 83%
Russ Feingold 83%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 83%
Daniel Graham 83%
Daniel Inouye 83%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 83%
Bob Kerrey 83%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 83%
Herb Kohl 83%
Frank Lautenberg 83%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 83%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 83%
Carol Moseley Braun 83%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 83%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 83%
Charles Robb 83%
Paul Sarbanes 83%
Robert Torricelli 83%
Paul Wellstone 83%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 83%
Sidney Yates 82%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 81%
Thomas Allen 81%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 81%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 81%
David Edward Bonior 81%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 81%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 81%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 81%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 81%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 81%
Sam Gejdenson 81%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 81%
Joseph Kennedy II 81%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 81%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 81%
Robert Matsui 81%
Karen McCarthy 81%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 81%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 81%
Constance Morella 81%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 81%
Vic Snyder 81%
Ellen Tauscher 81%
Karen Thurman 81%
Esteban Edward Torres 81%
Bruce Vento 81%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 80%
Max Baucus 80%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 80%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 80%
Jane Harman 79%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 79%
Tom Lantos 79%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 79%
Rob Andrews 75%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 75%
Rick Boucher 75%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 75%
Calvin Dooley 75%
Chet Edwards 75%
Jonas Frost III 75%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 75%
John Glenn 75%
Darlene Hooley 75%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 75%
Gerald Kleczka 75%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 75%
Dave Obey 75%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 75%
Steve Rothman 75%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 75%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 75%
Robert Wexler 75%
Bob Weygand 75%
Albert Wynn 75%
Ciro Rodriguez 73%
Bob Wise, Jr. 73%
Rod Blagojevich 69%
Sherwood Boehlert 69%
Thomas Davis III 69%
Peter Deutsch 69%
William Luther 69%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 69%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 69%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 69%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 69%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 67%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 67%
Alfonse D'Amato 67%
Thomas Daschle 67%
Byron Dorgan 67%
Wendell Ford 67%
W.G. Hefner 67%
William Jefferson 67%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 67%
Joe Lieberman 67%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 67%
Olympia Snowe 67%
Harold Ford, Jr. 64%
Robert Borski, Jr. 63%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 63%
Nancy Johnson 63%
Paul Kanjorski 63%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 63%
Ronald Klink 63%
John LaFalce 63%
Nicholas Lampson 63%
James Maloney 63%
Paul McHale 63%
Christopher Shays 63%
Bart Stupak 63%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top