or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Civil Liberties Union

2000 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 93%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 93%
Lynn Woolsey 93%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 92%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 92%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 86%
Gary Ackerman 86%
Thomas Allen 86%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 86%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 86%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 86%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 86%
William Clay, Sr. 86%
Eva Clayton 86%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 86%
William Coyne 86%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 86%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 86%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 86%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 86%
Julian Dixon 86%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 86%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 86%
Russ Feingold 86%
Bob Filner 86%
Barney Frank 86%
Sam Gejdenson 86%
Charlie Gonzalez 86%
Maurice Hinchey 86%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 86%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 86%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 86%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 86%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 86%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 86%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 86%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 86%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 86%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 86%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 86%
Robert Matsui 86%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 86%
Martin Meehan 86%
Carrie Meek 86%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 86%
John Olver 86%
Major Owens 86%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 86%
Donald Payne 86%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 86%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 86%
Martin Olav Sabo 86%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 86%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 86%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 86%
Pete Stark 86%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 86%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 86%
Mel Watt 86%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 86%
Paul Wellstone 86%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 85%
Howard Berman 85%
Julia Carson 85%
Norm Dicks 85%
Karen McCarthy 85%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 85%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 85%
Ed Towns 85%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 85%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 85%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 83%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 83%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 83%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 79%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 79%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 79%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 79%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 79%
Bill Delahunt 79%
Lane Evans 79%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 79%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 79%
Patrick Kennedy 79%
Tom Lantos 79%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 79%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 79%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 79%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 79%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 79%
Constance Morella 79%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 79%
Ciro Rodriguez 79%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 79%
Vic Snyder 79%
Ellen Tauscher 79%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 79%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 79%
Robert Wexler 79%
Albert Wynn 79%
Darlene Hooley 77%
Karen Thurman 77%
Bruce Vento 77%
David Wu 77%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 71%
Brian Baird 71%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 71%
Shelley Berkley 71%
Jeff Bingaman 71%
Rod Blagojevich 71%
Rick Boucher 71%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 71%
Richard Bryan 71%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 71%
Chris Dodd 71%
Calvin Dooley 71%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 71%
James Greenwood 71%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 71%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 71%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 71%
Daniel Inouye 71%
James Merrill Jeffords 71%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 71%
Bob Kerrey 71%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 71%
Herb Kohl 71%
Frank Lautenberg 71%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 71%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 71%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 71%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 71%
Owen Pickett 71%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 71%
Charles Robb 71%
Steve Rothman 71%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 71%
Paul Sarbanes 71%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 71%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 71%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 71%
Robert Torricelli 71%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 71%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 71%
Thomas Campbell 69%
Jonas Frost III 69%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 69%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 69%
Stephanie Tubbs Jones 69%
Bob Wise, Jr. 69%
John Edwards 67%
William Jefferson 67%
Matthew Martinez 67%
Anthony Weiner 67%
Rob Andrews 64%
Sherwood Boehlert 64%
David Edward Bonior 64%
Peter Deutsch 64%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 64%
Chet Edwards 64%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 64%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 64%
Gerald Kleczka 64%
Nicholas Lampson 64%
William Luther 64%
Dennis Moore 64%
Jim Oberstar 64%
Ron Paul 64%
John Edward Porter 64%
Norman Sisisky 64%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 64%
Ted Strickland 64%
Bob Weygand 64%
Robert Borski, Jr. 62%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 62%
Harold Ford, Jr. 58%
Max Baucus 57%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 57%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 57%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 57%
Thomas Daschle 57%
Byron Dorgan 57%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 57%
Daniel Graham 57%
Paul Kanjorski 57%
Dale Kildee 57%
Ronald Klink 57%
James Kolbe 57%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top