Rating Group: South Dakota Farmers Union

2008 Positions on Rural Issues

State Office Name Party Rating
SD U.S. House-At-Large Kristi Noem R 60
SD State House-2 Brock Greenfield R 75
SD State House-3 David Novstrup R 40
SD State House-4 Jim Peterson D 100
SD State House-12 Manny Steele R 40
SD State House-12 Hal Wick R 25
SD State House-14 Marc Feinstein D 80
SD State House-20 Lance Carson R 60
SD State House-21 Julie Bartling D 100
SD State House-24 Tim Rounds R 60
SD State House-28B Betty Olson R 60
SD State House-32 Brian Gosch R 60
SD State House-34 David Lust R 40
SD State Senate-3 Al Novstrup R 40
SD State Senate-7 Larry Tidemann R 60
SD State Senate-9 Deb Peters R 40
SD State Senate-10 Shantel Krebs R 60
SD State Senate-13 Phyllis Heineman R 40
SD State Senate-18 Jean Hunhoff R 75
SD State Senate-20 Mike Vehle R 60
SD State Senate-25 Tim Rave R 60
SD State Senate-26 Larry Lucas D 100
SD State Senate-27 James Bradford D 100
SD State Senate-28 Ryan Maher R 100
SD State Senate-29 Larry Rhoden R 60
SD State Senate-35 Mark Kirkeby R 60
SD Secretary of State Jason Gant R 50
SD Commissioner-At-Large Burt Elliott N/A 100
SD Commissioner-At-Large James Lintz N/A 75
SD Commissioner-At-Large Garry Allen Moore N/A 100
Gene Abdallah 75
Daniel Ahlers 100
Kenneth Albers 75
Jerry Apa 50
Jamie Boomgarden 60
Thomas Brunner 60
Michael Buckingham 60
Quinten Burg 100
Joni Cutler 40
Justin Davis 60
Thomas Deadrick 75
Thomas Dempster 75
H. Dennert 100
Mark DeVries 60
Brian Dreyer 60
Jay Duenwald 75
Joel Dykstra 60
Richard Engels 80
Bob Faehn 40
Cooper Garnos 75
David Gassman 100
Margaret Gillespie 100
Charlotte Gilson 60
Mary Glenski 80
Bob Gray 75
Tom Hackl 40
Clayton Halverson 100
Tom Hansen 75
Gary Hanson 100
Dale Hargens 100
Arlen Hauge 75
Jeffrey Haverly 40
Scott Heidepriem 100
Thomas Hills 60
Alan Hoerth 100
Gordon Howie 60
James Hundstad 100
Roger Hunt 50
Gary Jerke 60
Sandy Jerstad 75
Kent Juhnke 50
Thomas Katus 100
Frank Kloucek 100
David Knudson 75
Gilbert Koetzle 75
Al Koistinen 40
Royal McCracken 75
Ed McLaughlin 25
Kenneth McNenny 67
Kathleen Miles 60
William Napoli 50
Paul Nelson 60
Benjamin Nesselhuf 100
Eldon Nygaard 75
Edwin Olson, Jr. 75
Russell Olson 40
Ryan Olson 60
Gordon Pederson 40
Carol Pitts 60
J.E. Putnam 60
Valentine Rausch 60
Dennis Schmidt 75
David Sigdestad 100
Orville Smidt 75
Steve Street 100
Daniel Sutton 100
William Thompson 60
Nancy Turbak Berry 100
Charles Turbiville 60
Theresa Two Bulls 100
Donald Van Etten 40
Kim Vanneman 60
Thomas Van Norman 100
Keri Weems 40
Mark Willadsen 40

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.