Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: South Dakota Farmers Union

2006 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
SD Lieutenant Governor Matt Michels Republican 80%
SD State House 3 Al Novstrup Republican 100%
SD State House 5 Lee Anton Schoenbeck Republican 100%
SD State House 11 Mark Willadsen Republican 80%
SD State House 18 Jean Hunhoff Republican 100%
SD State House 21 Julie Bartling Democratic 100%
SD State House 24 Tim Rounds Republican 100%
SD State House 25 Roger Hunt Republican 60%
SD State House 29 Thomas Brunner Republican 100%
SD State Senate 2 Brock Greenfield Republican 100%
SD State Senate 4 Jim Peterson Democratic 100%
SD State Senate 7 Larry Tidemann Republican 100%
SD State Senate 9 Deb Peters Republican 100%
SD State Senate 13 Phyllis Heineman Republican 80%
SD State Senate 20 Mike Vehle Republican 100%
SD State Senate 27 James Bradford Democratic 80%
SD Secretary of State Shantel Krebs Republican 100%
SD Commissioner 3 Tom Hansen 100%
SD Commissioner At-Large Dick Kelly 80%
SD Commissioner At-Large Jim Lintz 100%
SD Commissioner At-Large Duane Sutton 100%
Gene Abdallah 70%
Stanford Adelstein 80%
Jerry Apa 100%
Eric Bogue 100%
Jamie Boomgarden 100%
Bernard Michael Broderick, Jr. 80%
Michael Buckingham 80%
Joni Cutler 100%
Justin Davis 100%
Thomas Deadrick 100%
Thomas Dempster 80%
H. Dennert 100%
Jay Duenwald 100%
J.P. Duniphan 80%
Joel Dykstra 100%
William Earley 80%
Burt Elliott 100%
Bob Faehn 80%
Larry Frost 80%
Arthur Fryslie 90%
Jason Gant 100%
Cooper Garnos 100%
David Gassman 60%
Margaret Gillespie 80%
Mary Glenski 80%
Thomas Glover 80%
Bob Gray 80%
Tom Hackl 100%
Patrick Haley 80%
Clayton Halverson 100%
Alan Hanks 100%
Gary Hanson 100%
Dale Hargens 100%
Jeffrey Haverly 100%
Thomas Hennies 80%
Thomas Hills 100%
Gordon Howie 100%
James Hundstad 100%
Barry Jensen 100%
Gary Jerke 100%
Ted Klaudt 100%
Frank Kloucek 80%
David Knudson 80%
Gilbert Koetzle 90%
Al Koistinen 100%
Clarence Kooistra 60%
John Koskan 100%
Elizabeth Kraus 100%
Michael Kroger 80%
Gerald Lange 80%
Alice Lucille McCoy 80%
Royal McCracken 80%
Ed McLaughlin 100%
Kenneth McNenny 100%
Kathleen Miles 100%
Garry Allen Moore 80%
Casey Murschel 100%
William Napoli 100%
Paul Nelson 100%
Benjamin Nesselhuf 100%
Sean O'Brien 100%
Edwin Olson, Jr. 100%
Ryan Olson 100%
Gordon Pederson 100%
J.E. Putnam 70%
Valentine Rausch 100%
Tim Rave 100%
Larry Rhoden 100%
Elaine Roberts 100%
Donna Schafer 100%
Louis Sebert 80%
David Sigdestad 100%
Orville Smidt 100%
Steve Street 100%
Daniel Sutton 100%
William Thompson 100%
R. Shawn Tornow 70%
Charles Turbiville 100%
Theresa Two Bulls 100%
Paul Valandra 100%
Donald Van Etten 100%
Thomas Van Norman 100%
Keri Weems 100%
Hal Wick 80%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top