Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Congress of California Seniors

2009 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 25%
Anthony Adams 50%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Tom Ammiano 100%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 25%
Juan Arambula 100%
Roy Ashburn 42%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 83%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 18%
Bill Berryhill 25%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 25%
Sam Blakeslee 33%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 92%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield No Party Affiliation 100%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
Joan Buchanan 67%
Anna Caballero 100%
Charles Calderon 75%
Ron Calderon 92%
Amina Carter 92%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo No Party Affiliation 91%
Wesley Chesbro 92%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 33%
Connie Conway 33%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 36%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Lou Correa 67%
Joe Coto 100%
Dave Cox 33%
Mike Davis 100%
Hector De La Torre 100%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 25%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 100%
Charles DeVore 17%
Denise Ducheny 100%
Robert Dutton 25%
Michael Duvall 42%
Bill Emmerson 42%
Mike Eng 92%
Noreen Evans 100%
Mike Feuer 100%
Nathan Fletcher 20%
Dean Florez 100%
Paul Fong 100%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes No Party Affiliation 91%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 25%
Warren Furutani 100%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 18%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 67%
Martin Garrick 33%
Danny Gilmore 42%
CA Supervisor 4 Curt Hagman 25%
CA State Senate 35 Isadore Hall III Democratic 83%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
CA State Board of Equalization Diane Harkey Republican 33%
Tom Harman 25%
Mary Hayashi 100%
CA State Senate 22 Edward Hernandez Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 17%
Alyson Huber 67%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 25%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 33%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 100%
Christine Kehoe 92%
CA U.S. House 25 Steve Knight Republican 33%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian No Party Affiliation 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 92%
Dan Logue 25%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Bonnie Lowenthal 100%
CA State Board of Equalization Fiona Ma Democratic 100%
Abel Maldonado 58%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 100%
Jeff Miller 25%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 75%
Brian Nestande 33%
Roger Niello 42%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 25%
Jenny Oropeza 70%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 91%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
John Pérez 100%
Manuel Pérez 92%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 92%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. No Party Affiliation 100%
Gloria Romero 100%
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. Republican 25%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Mary Salas 100%
Lori Saldaña 100%
Jim Silva 25%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian Democratic 100%
Nancy Skinner 100%
Cameron Smyth 27%
Jose Solorio 92%
Darrell Steinberg 100%
Tony Strickland 33%
Audra Strickland 25%
Sandré Swanson 100%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 100%
CA U.S. House 35 Norma Torres Democratic 100%
Alberto Torrico 100%
Van Tran 33%
Mike Villines 36%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 25%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 92%
Roderick Wright 92%
Mark Wyland 27%
Mariko Yamada 100%
Leland Yee 92%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top