Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Congress of California Seniors

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 27%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 45%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 18%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 91%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 27%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 21 Sharon Runner Republican 27%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 64%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 82%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer Republican 27%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 27%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo No Party Affiliation 91%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz No Party Affiliation 100%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 18%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 36%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 91%
CA State Board of Equalization Jerome Horton Democratic 100%
Samuel Aanestad 27%
Richard Ackerman 27%
Gregory Aghazarian 18%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Roy Ashburn 36%
James Battin 18%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Russell Bogh 27%
Debra Bowen 64%
Ron Calderon 91%
Joseph Canciamilla 73%
Edward Chavez 73%
Wesley Chesbro 91%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Lynn Daucher 27%
Denise Ducheny 91%
Joseph Dunn 100%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 82%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Dean Florez 55%
Dario Frommer 100%
Bonnie Garcia 45%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 36%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 27%
Dennis Hollingsworth 9%
Shirley Horton 45%
Guy Houston 36%
Richard Keene 36%
Sheila Kuehl 82%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 18%
Robert Leslie 27%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Michael Machado 73%
Bob Margett 27%
Barbara Matthews 100%
Bill Maze 0%
Cindy Montañez 91%
William Phillip Morrow 18%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 27%
Eugene Mullin 73%
Kevin Murray 64%
Joseph Nation 64%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 100%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Nicole Parra 82%
Don Perata 82%
George Plescia 18%
Charles Poochigian 9%
Keith Stuart Richman 27%
Gloria Romero 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 91%
Nell Soto 100%
Audra Strickland 27%
Edward Vincent 57%
Mark Wyland 27%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top