Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Congress of California Seniors

2001 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 17%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 33%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 67%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 42%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 50%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 33%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 92%
Samuel Aanestad 42%
Richard Ackerman 17%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Deirdre Alpert 100%
Roy Ashburn 33%
Pat Bates 50%
James Battin 58%
Russell Bogh 50%
James Brulte 25%
John Burton 100%
Joseph Canciamilla 83%
Edward Chavez 92%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Dave Cox 33%
Lynn Daucher 50%
Manny Diaz 100%
Joseph Dunn 92%
John Anthony Dutra 100%
Martha Escutia 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 100%
Dean Florez 92%
Dario Frommer 92%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 50%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 17%
Jerome Horton 75%
Ross Johnson 17%
Betty Karnette 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
William Knight 8%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
Jay La Suer 42%
Robert Leslie 42%
John Longville 100%
Michael Machado 67%
Ken Maddox 50%
Abel Maldonado 58%
Bob Margett 33%
Barbara Matthews 75%
William Phillip Morrow 33%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 17%
Kevin Murray 92%
George Nakano 92%
Joseph Nation 83%
Thomas Oller 8%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 92%
Robert Pacheco 33%
Don Perata 83%
Charles Poochigian 33%
Sarah Reyes 92%
Keith Stuart Richman 50%
Gloria Romero 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 100%
Byron Sher 92%
Nell Soto 100%
Tony Strickland 50%
John Vasconcellos 83%
Edward Vincent 100%
Herb Wesson, Jr. 100%
Patricia Wiggins 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top