or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Citizens Against Government Waste

2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 17%
Gary Ackerman 8%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 71%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 6%
Todd Akin 92%
Wayne Allard 88%
George Allen 63%
Thomas Allen 13%
Rob Andrews 25%
Joe Baca, Sr. 8%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 79%
Brian Baird 17%
Richard Hugh Baker 71%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 8%
Cass Ballenger 75%
Roscoe Bartlett 92%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 83%
Charlie Bass 83%
Max Baucus 25%
Evan Bayh 38%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 8%
Bob Bennett 73%
Douglas Bereuter 71%
Shelley Berkley 25%
Howard Berman 14%
Marion Berry 38%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 0%
Judy Biggert 83%
Michael Bilirakis 83%
Jeff Bingaman 8%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 25%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 13%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 74%
Sherwood Boehlert 50%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 83%
Kit Bond 56%
Henry Bonilla 71%
Mary Bono Mack 62%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 79%
Leonard Boswell 33%
Rick Boucher 29%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 25%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 88%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 13%
John Breaux 19%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 8%
Henry Brown, Jr. 71%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 17%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 88%
Jim Bunning 94%
Conrad Burns 63%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 83%
Dan Burton 87%
Steve Buyer 80%
Robert Byrd 13%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 75%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 75%
Ben Campbell 53%
Chris Cannon 91%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 83%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 19%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 58%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 21%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 9%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 17%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 13%
Brad Carson 29%
Julia Carson 4%
Mike Castle 83%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 56%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 79%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 17%
Hillary Clinton 6%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 8%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 88%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 56%
Michael Collins 96%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 56%
Kent Conrad 19%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 13%
Jon Corzine 19%
Jerry Costello 25%
Christopher Cox 91%
Larry Craig 80%
Robert Cramer 50%
Philip Crane 95%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 73%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 71%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 13%
Barbara Cubin 78%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 92%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 13%
Randall Cunningham 74%
Thomas Daschle 0%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 13%
James Davis 21%
Jo Ann Davis 83%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 17%
Thomas Davis III 65%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 0%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 88%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 21%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 13%
Bill Delahunt 14%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 4%
Thomas DeLay 83%
James DeMint 96%
Peter Deutsch 25%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 63%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 65%
Norm Dicks 13%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 9%
Chris Dodd 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 29%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 57%
Calvin Dooley 36%
John Doolittle 74%
Byron Dorgan 13%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 21%
David Dreier 71%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 100%
Jennifer Dunn 75%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 6%
John Edwards 19%
Chet Edwards 33%
Vern Ehlers 67%
Jo Ann Emerson 65%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 17%
Philip English 65%
John Ensign 94%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 81%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 13%
Bob Etheridge 17%
Lane Evans 13%
Terry Everett 79%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 13%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 14%
Russ Feingold 38%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 0%
Michael Ferguson 71%
Bob Filner 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 81%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 96%
Mark Foley 79%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 88%
Harold Ford, Jr. 17%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 79%
Barney Frank 13%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 71%
William Frist 75%
Jonas Frost III 4%
Elton Gallegly 75%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 8%
Jim Gibbons 83%
Wayne Gilchrest 68%
Paul Gillmor 71%
Charlie Gonzalez 4%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 88%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 88%
Bart Gordon 38%
Porter Goss 75%
Daniel Graham 13%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 83%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 67%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 81%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 79%
Mark Green 79%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 21%
James Greenwood 65%
Judd Gregg 63%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 8%
Gilbert Gutknecht 79%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 81%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 67%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 0%
Jane Harman 52%
Melissa Hart 88%
J. Dennis Hastert 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 5%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 78%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 69%
Robert Hayes 75%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 88%
Joel Hefley 100%
Wally Herger, Jr. 78%
Baron Hill 25%
Maurice Hinchey 9%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 17%
David Lee Hobson 79%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 17%
Pete Hoekstra 100%
Thomas Holden 38%
Ernest Hollings 13%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 21%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 13%
Darlene Hooley 22%
John Nathan Hostettler 83%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 57%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top