or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Immigrant Policy Center

2003-2004 Positions

Issues: Immigration
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 85%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 92%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 77%
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 85%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 85%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 77%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 77%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 0%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen Democratic 85%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas Democratic 92%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer Republican 0%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 0%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 92%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz Democratic 77%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 0%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 0%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 77%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Richard Ackerman 0%
Gregory Aghazarian 0%
Richard Alarcón 92%
Roy Ashburn 0%
James Battin 0%
Patty Berg 92%
Rudy Bermúdez 92%
Russell Bogh 0%
Joseph Canciamilla 62%
Edward Chavez 85%
Rebecca Cohn 85%
Lynn Daucher 0%
Denise Ducheny 92%
Joseph Dunn 85%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 92%
Liz Figueroa 92%
Dean Florez 92%
Dario Frommer 85%
Bonnie Garcia 31%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Tom Harman 0%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Jerome Horton 77%
Shirley Horton 15%
Guy Houston 0%
Richard Keene 0%
Sheila Kuehl 92%
John Laird 92%
Jay La Suer 0%
Robert Leslie 0%
Lloyd Levine 92%
Sally Lieber 92%
Michael Machado 77%
Bob Margett 0%
Barbara Matthews 85%
Bill Maze 0%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 0%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 0%
Eugene Mullin 92%
Kevin Murray 92%
Joseph Nation 92%
Fabian Núñez 92%
Jenny Oropeza 69%
Deborah Ortiz 92%
Nicole Parra 92%
Don Perata 85%
George Plescia 0%
Charles Poochigian 0%
Keith Stuart Richman 15%
Gloria Romero 85%
Sharon Runner 0%
Simón Salinas 92%
Jack Scott 85%
Nell Soto 92%
Audra Strickland 0%
Edward Vincent 77%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top