Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: NARAL Pro-Choice South Dakota

2005 Positions

Issues: Abortion
State Office District Name Party Rating
Stanford Adelstein 100%
SD State Senate 27 James Bradford Democratic 100%
Joni Cutler 100%
Thomas Dempster 100%
Thomas Glover 100%
Ed McLaughlin 100%
Casey Murschel 100%
Benjamin Nesselhuf 100%
Elaine Roberts 100%
SD Commissioner At-Large Duane Sutton 100%
William Thompson 100%
Theresa Two Bulls 100%
Paul Valandra 100%
Thomas Van Norman 100%
H. Dennert 50%
J.P. Duniphan 50%
Burt Elliott 50%
Thomas Hills 50%
James Hundstad 50%
David Knudson 50%
Clarence Kooistra 50%
Royal McCracken 50%
Sean O'Brien 50%
Edwin Olson, Jr. 50%
SD State Senate 9 Deb Peters Republican 50%
David Sigdestad 50%
Steve Street 50%
Gene Abdallah 0%
Jerry Apa 0%
SD State House 21 Julie Bartling Democratic 0%
Eric Bogue 0%
Jamie Boomgarden 0%
Bernard Michael Broderick, Jr. 0%
Michael Buckingham 0%
Thomas Deadrick 0%
Jay Duenwald 0%
William Earley 0%
Larry Frost 0%
Arthur Fryslie 0%
Jason Gant 0%
Cooper Garnos 0%
David Gassman 0%
Margaret Gillespie 0%
Mary Glenski 0%
SD State Senate 2 Brock Greenfield Republican 0%
Tom Hackl 0%
SD Commissioner 3 Tom Hansen 0%
Gary Hanson 0%
Dale Hargens 0%
Jeffrey Haverly 0%
SD State Senate 13 Phyllis Heineman Republican 0%
Thomas Hennies 0%
Gordon Howie 0%
SD State House 18 Jean Hunhoff Republican 0%
SD State House 25 Roger Hunt Republican 0%
Barry Jensen 0%
SD Commissioner At-Large Dick Kelly 0%
Ted Klaudt 0%
Frank Kloucek 0%
Gilbert Koetzle 0%
Al Koistinen 0%
John Koskan 0%
Elizabeth Kraus 0%
SD Secretary of State Shantel Krebs Republican 0%
Michael Kroger 0%
Gerald Lange 0%
SD Commissioner At-Large Jim Lintz 0%
Alice Lucille McCoy 0%
SD Lieutenant Governor Matt Michels Republican 0%
Kathleen Miles 0%
Garry Allen Moore 0%
William Napoli 0%
Paul Nelson 0%
SD State House 3 Al Novstrup Republican 0%
Gordon Pederson 0%
SD State Senate 4 Jim Peterson Democratic 0%
Valentine Rausch 0%
Tim Rave 0%
Larry Rhoden 0%
SD State House 24 Tim Rounds Republican 0%
Donna Schafer 0%
SD State House 5 Lee Anton Schoenbeck Republican 0%
Orville Smidt 0%
Daniel Sutton 0%
SD State Senate 7 Larry Tidemann Republican 0%
R. Shawn Tornow 0%
Donald Van Etten 0%
Keri Weems 0%
Hal Wick 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top