Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: NARAL Pro-Choice South Dakota

2005 Positions

Issues: Abortion
State Office District Name Party Rating
Gene Abdallah 0%
Stanford Adelstein 100%
Jerry Apa 0%
Eric Bogue 0%
Jamie Boomgarden 0%
Bernard Michael Broderick, Jr. 0%
Michael Buckingham 0%
Joni Cutler 100%
Thomas Deadrick 0%
Thomas Dempster 100%
H. Dennert 50%
Jay Duenwald 0%
J.P. Duniphan 50%
William Earley 0%
Burt Elliott 50%
Larry Frost 0%
Arthur Fryslie 0%
Jason Gant 0%
Cooper Garnos 0%
David Gassman 0%
Margaret Gillespie 0%
Mary Glenski 0%
Thomas Glover 100%
Tom Hackl 0%
SD Commissioner 3 Tom Hansen 0%
Gary Hanson 0%
Dale Hargens 0%
Jeffrey Haverly 0%
Thomas Hennies 0%
Thomas Hills 50%
Gordon Howie 0%
James Hundstad 50%
Barry Jensen 0%
SD Commissioner At-Large Dick Kelly 0%
Ted Klaudt 0%
Frank Kloucek 0%
David Knudson 50%
Gilbert Koetzle 0%
Al Koistinen 0%
Clarence Kooistra 50%
John Koskan 0%
Elizabeth Kraus 0%
Michael Kroger 0%
Gerald Lange 0%
SD Commissioner At-Large Jim Lintz 0%
Alice Lucille McCoy 0%
Royal McCracken 50%
Ed McLaughlin 100%
Kathleen Miles 0%
Garry Allen Moore 0%
Casey Murschel 100%
William Napoli 0%
Paul Nelson 0%
Benjamin Nesselhuf 100%
Sean O'Brien 50%
Edwin Olson, Jr. 50%
Gordon Pederson 0%
Valentine Rausch 0%
Tim Rave 0%
Larry Rhoden 0%
Elaine Roberts 100%
Donna Schafer 0%
David Sigdestad 50%
Orville Smidt 0%
Steve Street 50%
Daniel Sutton 0%
SD Commissioner At-Large Duane Sutton 100%
William Thompson 100%
R. Shawn Tornow 0%
Theresa Two Bulls 100%
Paul Valandra 100%
Donald Van Etten 0%
Thomas Van Norman 100%
Keri Weems 0%
Hal Wick 0%
SD State House 21 Julie Bartling Democratic 0%
SD State Senate 27 James Bradford Democratic 100%
SD State Senate 4 Jim Peterson Democratic 0%
SD State Senate 2 Brock Greenfield Republican 0%
SD State Senate 13 Phyllis Heineman Republican 0%
SD State House 18 Jean Hunhoff Republican 0%
SD State House 25 Roger Hunt Republican 0%
SD Secretary of State Shantel Krebs Republican 0%
SD Lieutenant Governor Matt Michels Republican 0%
SD State House 3 Al Novstrup Republican 0%
SD State Senate 9 Deb Peters Republican 50%
SD State House 24 Tim Rounds Republican 0%
SD State House 5 Lee Anton Schoenbeck Republican 0%
SD State Senate 7 Larry Tidemann Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top