or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United Auto Workers

1999 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 100%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 100%
Evan Bayh 100%
David Edward Bonior 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
Julia Carson 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
Kent Conrad 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Thomas Daschle 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
Julian Dixon 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
Byron Dorgan 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
John Edwards 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 100%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 100%
Dale Kildee 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
Blanche Lincoln 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
Matthew Martinez 100%
Robert Matsui 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
Michael McNulty 100%
Carrie Meek 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 100%
John Moakley 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
Jim Oberstar 100%
Dave Obey 100%
Major Owens 100%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
Donald Payne 100%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 100%
Ciro Rodriguez 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
Karen Thurman 100%
Robert Torricelli 100%
Ed Towns 100%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 100%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
Anthony Weiner 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Robert Wexler 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Gary Ackerman 92%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 92%
Thomas Allen 92%
Rob Andrews 92%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 92%
Max Baucus 92%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 92%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 92%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 92%
Jeff Bingaman 92%
Rod Blagojevich 92%
Robert Borski, Jr. 92%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 92%
Richard Bryan 92%
Robert Byrd 92%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 92%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 92%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 92%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 92%
Bill Delahunt 92%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 92%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 92%
Bob Filner 92%
Harold Ford, Jr. 92%
Sam Gejdenson 92%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 92%
Daniel Graham 92%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 92%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 92%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 92%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 92%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 92%
Daniel Inouye 92%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 92%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 92%
Paul Kanjorski 92%
Patrick Kennedy 92%
Bob Kerrey 92%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 92%
Ronald Klink 92%
Herb Kohl 92%
John LaFalce 92%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 92%
Joe Lieberman 92%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 92%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 92%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 92%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 92%
Jack Murtha 92%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 92%
John Olver 92%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 92%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 92%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 92%
Steve Rothman 92%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 92%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 92%
Vic Snyder 92%
Pete Stark 92%
Ted Strickland 92%
Bart Stupak 92%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 92%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 92%
James Traficant, Jr. 92%
Stephanie Tubbs Jones 92%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 92%
Bruce Vento 92%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 92%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 92%
Albert Wynn 92%
Brian Baird 85%
James Barcia 85%
Shelley Berkley 85%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 85%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 85%
Rick Boucher 85%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 85%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 85%
Jerry Costello 85%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 85%
Peter Deutsch 85%
Norm Dicks 85%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 85%
Chet Edwards 85%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 85%
Barney Frank 85%
Jonas Frost III 85%
Tony Hall 85%
Thomas Holden 85%
Ernest Hollings 85%
Darlene Hooley 85%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 85%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 85%
Gerald Kleczka 85%
Nicholas Lampson 85%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 85%
Frank Lautenberg 85%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 85%
Frank Mascara 85%
Martin Meehan 85%
Patrick Moynihan 85%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 85%
David Phelps 85%
Charles Robb 85%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 85%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 85%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 85%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 85%
Howard Berman 77%
Leonard Boswell 77%
John Breaux 77%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 77%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top