or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United Auto Workers

1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
David Edward Bonior 100%
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
Richard Bryan 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Julia Carson 100%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
Kent Conrad 100%
Jerry Costello 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Thomas Daschle 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
Byron Dorgan 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
Barney Frank 100%
Sam Gejdenson 100%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 100%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 100%
Daniel Inouye 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 100%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 100%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 100%
Patrick Kennedy 100%
Bob Kerrey 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 100%
Dale Kildee 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
Ronald Klink 100%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 100%
Tom Lantos 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
Frank Mascara 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Michael McNulty 100%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
Alan Mollohan 100%
Patrick Moynihan 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
Dave Obey 100%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 100%
Donald Payne 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 100%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 100%
Steve Rothman 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
Norman Sisisky 100%
John Spratt, Jr. 100%
Pete Stark 100%
Ted Strickland 100%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
Bruce Vento 100%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Robert Wexler 100%
Bob Weygand 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 100%
Albert Wynn 100%
Thomas Allen 92%
Rob Andrews 92%
James Barcia 92%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 92%
George Brown, Jr. 92%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 92%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 92%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 92%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 92%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 92%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 92%
Bob Filner 92%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 92%
Thomas Holden 92%
Paul Kanjorski 92%
Gerald Kleczka 92%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 92%
William Luther 92%
James Maloney 92%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 92%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 92%
Martin Meehan 92%
Carrie Meek 92%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 92%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 92%
Jim Oberstar 92%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 92%
Earl Pomeroy 92%
Silvestre Reyes 92%
Ciro Rodriguez 92%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 92%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 92%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 92%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 92%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 92%
Bart Stupak 92%
Karen Thurman 92%
Mel Watt 92%
Gary Ackerman 91%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 91%
Rod Blagojevich 91%
Rick Boucher 91%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 91%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 91%
Peter Deutsch 91%
Julian Dixon 91%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 91%
Jonas Frost III 91%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 91%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 91%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 91%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 91%
John LaFalce 91%
Nicholas Lampson 91%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 91%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 91%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 91%
Ed Towns 91%
James Traficant, Jr. 91%
Bob Wise, Jr. 91%
Howard Berman 90%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 90%
Jeff Bingaman 90%
Robert Byrd 90%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 90%
Karen McCarthy 90%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 90%
John Moakley 90%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 90%
Jack Murtha 90%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 90%
Charles Robb 90%
Max Baucus 89%
Robert Torricelli 89%
Harold Ford, Jr. 88%
William Jefferson 88%
Marion Berry 83%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 83%
Bob Etheridge 83%
Bart Gordon 83%
Tony Hall 83%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 4 Carolyn McCarthy Democratic 83%
David Minge 83%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic/Farmer/Labor 83%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 83%
Timothy Roemer 83%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 83%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 83%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 82%
Patsy Ann Danner 82%
William Lipinski 82%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 82%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 82%
Ike Skelton 82%
John Breaux 80%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 80%
Daniel Graham 80%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 80%
Herb Kohl 80%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top