or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Republican Assembly

2010 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 100%
Charles DeVore 100%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 100%
CA State Senate 21 Steve Knight Republican 99%
Chris Peterson 97%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 94%
CA State Assembly 3 Dan Logue Republican 94%
Cameron Smyth 94%
CA State Assembly 73 Diane Harkey Republican 93%
Dennis Hollingsworth 93%
Van Tran 93%
CA State Senate 14 Tom Berryhill Republican 92%
Chris Norby 92%
Tony Strickland 92%
Anthony Adams 88%
Robert Dutton 88%
CA State Assembly 55 Curt Hagman Republican 88%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 88%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 87%
Jim Silva 87%
Audra Strickland 85%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 84%
Roy Ashburn 82%
Martin Garrick 82%
Jeff Miller 82%
Roger Niello 82%
CA State Assembly 26 Connie Conway Republican 81%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 81%
Tom Harman 81%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 81%
Danny Gilmore 80%
CA State Assembly 42 Brian Nestande Republican 76%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 76%
Bill Berryhill 69%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 69%
Mike Villines 69%
Bill Emmerson 67%
Nathan Fletcher 63%
Sam Blakeslee 53%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 35%
Alyson Huber 24%
Anna Caballero 18%
CA State Senate 35 Roderick Wright Democratic 18%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 12%
Denise Ducheny 12%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 12%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 12%
Alberto Torrico 12%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 12%
Dean Florez 6%
CA State Assembly 43 Mike Gatto Democratic 6%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 6%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 6%
Tony Mendoza 6%
Pedro Nava 6%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 6%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 6%
Gloria Romero 6%
CA State Assembly 4 Mariko Yamada Democratic 6%
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 6%
Elaine Alquist 0%
CA State Assembly 17 Tom Ammiano Democratic 0%
Juan Arambula 0%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 39 Martin Block Democratic 0%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield Democratic 0%
CA State Assembly 62 Steven Bradford Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 0%
CA State Assembly 16 Joan Buchanan Democratic 0%
Charles Calderon 0%
Amina Carter 0%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 0%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 0%
Joe Coto 0%
Mike Davis 0%
Hector De La Torre 0%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 0%
Mike Eng 0%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 0%
Mike Feuer 0%
CA State Assembly 28 Paul Fong Democratic 0%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 0%
Warren Furutani 0%
CA State Assembly 64 Isadore Hall III Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 0%
Mary Hayashi 0%
CA State Assembly 48 Roger Hernandez Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 0%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 0%
Christine Kehoe 0%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0%
CA State Assembly 70 Bonnie Lowenthal Democratic 0%
Fiona Ma 0%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 0%
Jenny Oropeza 0%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 0%
CA State Assembly 53 John Pérez Democratic 0%
CA State Assembly 56 Manuel Pérez Democratic 0%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 0%
Ira Ruskin 0%
Mary Salas 0%
Lori Saldaña 0%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 0%
CA State Assembly 15 Nancy Skinner Democratic 0%
Jose Solorio 0%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 0%
Sandré Swanson 0%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 32 Norma Torres Democratic 0%
Patricia Wiggins 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top