Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Republican Assembly

2008 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 88%
Anthony Adams 88%
Elaine Alquist 0%
CA State Senate 36 Joel Anderson Republican 100%
Juan Arambula 0%
Roy Ashburn 94%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 15 James Beall, Jr. Democratic 0%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 93%
CA State Senate 14 Tom Berryhill Republican 71%
Sam Blakeslee 87%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 0%
Anna Caballero 0%
Charles Calderon 12%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 24%
Amina Carter 0%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 0%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 93%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 79%
CA State Senate 10 Ellen Corbett Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 34 Lou Correa Democratic 29%
Joe Coto 0%
Dave Cox 76%
Mike Davis 0%
Hector De La Torre 0%
CA State Senate 22 Kevin de Leon Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 94%
CA State Senate 7 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 0%
Charles DeVore 100%
Denise Ducheny 12%
Robert Dutton 88%
Michael Duvall 100%
Bill Emmerson 77%
Mike Eng 0%
CA State Senate 2 Noreen Evans Democratic 0%
Mike Feuer 6%
Dean Florez 0%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 18 Jean Fuller Republican 88%
Warren Furutani 0%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 100%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 6%
Martin Garrick 100%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 0%
Tom Harman 75%
Mary Hayashi 0%
CA State Senate 24 Edward Hernandez Democratic 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 94%
CA State Senate 29 Robert Huff Republican 94%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 0%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries Republican 94%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones Democratic 0%
Christine Kehoe 0%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 28 Ted Lieu Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0%
Fiona Ma 0%
Abel Maldonado 69%
Tony Mendoza 0%
Pedro Nava 0%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 6%
Roger Niello 88%
Jenny Oropeza 0%
CA State Senate 20 Alex Padilla Democratic 0%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 0%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. Democratic 0%
Gloria Romero 0%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Ira Ruskin 0%
Mary Salas 0%
Lori Saldaña 0%
Jim Silva 86%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 0%
Cameron Smyth 81%
Jose Solorio 6%
CA State Senate 6 Darrell Steinberg Democratic 0%
Audra Strickland 82%
Sandré Swanson 0%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 0%
Alberto Torrico 0%
Van Tran 100%
Mike Villines 94%
CA State Senate 37 Mimi Walters Republican 100%
Patricia Wiggins 0%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 100%
Leland Yee 18%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top