Rating Group: California Republican Assembly

2008 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-2 Jared Huffman D 0%
CA U.S. House-8 Paul Cook R 79%
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 94%
CA U.S. House-26 Julia Brownley D 0%
CA U.S. House-35 Gloria Negrete McLeod D 6%
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 0%
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 0%
CA State Senate-1 Ted Gaines R 100%
CA State Senate-2 Noreen Evans D 0%
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 0%
CA State Senate-5 Cathleen Galgiani D 6%
CA State Senate-6 Darrell Steinberg D 0%
CA State Senate-7 Mark DeSaulnier D 0%
CA State Senate-8 Leland Yee D 18%
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 0%
CA State Senate-10 Ellen Corbett D 0%
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 0%
CA State Senate-14 Tom Berryhill R 71%
CA State Senate-15 James Beall, Jr. D 0%
CA State Senate-18 Jean Fuller R 88%
CA State Senate-20 Alex Padilla D 0%
CA State Senate-22 Kevin de Leon D 0%
CA State Senate-24 Edward Hernandez D 0%
CA State Senate-28 Ted Lieu D 0%
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 94%
CA State Senate-30 Ron Calderon D 24%
CA State Senate-34 Lou Correa D 29%
CA State Senate-36 Joel Anderson R 100%
CA State Senate-37 Mimi Walters R 100%
CA State Senate-38 Mark Wyland R 100%
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 0%
CA Supervisor-1 Kevin Jeffries R 94%
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 93%
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 0%
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo D 0%
CA Council Member-2 Paul Krekorian D 0%
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 93%
CA Council Member-7 Felipe Fuentes D 0%
CA Council Member-9 Curren Price, Jr. D 0%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson D 0%
Samuel Aanestad 88%
Anthony Adams 88%
Elaine Alquist 0%
Juan Arambula 0%
Roy Ashburn 94%
Sam Blakeslee 87%
Anna Caballero 0%
Charles Calderon 12%
Amina Carter 0%
Joe Coto 0%
Dave Cox 76%
Mike Davis 0%
Hector De La Torre 0%
Charles DeVore 100%
Denise Ducheny 12%
Robert Dutton 88%
Michael Duvall 100%
Bill Emmerson 77%
Mike Eng 0%
Mike Feuer 6%
Dean Florez 0%
Warren Furutani 0%
Martin Garrick 100%
Tom Harman 75%
Mary Hayashi 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 94%
Christine Kehoe 0%
Fiona Ma 0%
Abel Maldonado 69%
Tony Mendoza 0%
Pedro Nava 0%
Roger Niello 88%
Jenny Oropeza 0%
Anthony Portantino, Jr. 0%
Gloria Romero 0%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Ira Ruskin 0%
Mary Salas 0%
Lori Saldaña 0%
Jim Silva 86%
Cameron Smyth 81%
Jose Solorio 6%
Audra Strickland 82%
Sandré Swanson 0%
Alberto Torrico 0%
Van Tran 100%
Mike Villines 94%
Patricia Wiggins 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.