Rating Group: California Republican Assembly

2006 Positions on Republican Principles

Issues: Conservative
State Office Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House-1 Doug LaMalfa R 100
CA U.S. House-4 Tom McClintock R 94
CA U.S. House-10 Jeff Denham R 65
CA U.S. House-14 Jackie Speier D 0
CA U.S. House-23 Kevin McCarthy R 71
CA U.S. House-27 Judy Chu D 0
CA U.S. House-33 Ted Lieu D 0
CA U.S. House-37 Karen Bass D 0
CA U.S. House-45 Mimi Walters R 100
CA U.S. House-47 Alan Lowenthal D 0
CA U.S. House-51 Juan Vargas D 0
CA State Senate-3 Lois Wolk D 0
CA State Senate-9 Loni Hancock D 0
CA State Senate-11 Mark Leno D 0
CA State Senate-21 Sharon Runner R 65
CA State Senate-25 Carol Liu D 0
CA State Senate-27 Fran Pavley D 0
CA State Senate-29 Robert Huff R 100
CA Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones D 0
CA Supervisor-2 Mark Ridley-Thomas D 0
CA Supervisor-3 Wilma Chan D 0
CA Supervisor-3 Todd Spitzer R 53
CA Supervisor-4 John Benoit 71
CA Supervisor-5 Saren Simitian D 0
CA Council Member-1 Gilbert Cedillo N/A 0
CA Council Member-5 Paul Koretz N/A 0
CA Council Member-6 David Cogdill R 88
CA Council Member-At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 6
CA Council Member-At-Large Alan Nakanishi 76
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Other 0
CA State Board of Equalization Jerome Horton D 0
CA State Board of Equalization George Runner, Jr. R 71
Samuel Aanestad 82
Richard Ackerman 71
Gregory Aghazarian 59
Richard Alarcón 6
Elaine Alquist 0
Juan Arambula 6
Roy Ashburn 71
James Battin 76
Patty Berg 0
Rudy Bermúdez 0
Sam Blakeslee 71
Russell Bogh 76
Debra Bowen 0
Charles Calderon 0
Joseph Canciamilla 24
Edward Chavez 6
Wesley Chesbro 6
Rebecca Cohn 0
Joe Coto 0
Dave Cox 82
Lynn Daucher 41
Hector De La Torre 0
Charles DeVore 100
Denise Ducheny 12
Joseph Dunn 0
Robert Dutton 53
Mervyn Dymally 0
Bill Emmerson 47
Martha Escutia 0
Noreen Evans 0
Liz Figueroa 0
Dean Florez 12
Dario Frommer 0
Bonnie Garcia 41
Jackie Goldberg 0
Tom Harman 0
Ray Haynes, Jr. 76
Dennis Hollingsworth 82
Shirley Horton 35
Guy Houston 71
Betty Karnette 0
Richard Keene 71
Christine Kehoe 0
Johan Klehs 0
Sheila Kuehl 0
John Laird 0
Jay La Suer 71
Robert Leslie 65
Lloyd Levine 0
Sally Lieber 0
Michael Machado 12
Abel Maldonado 59
Bob Margett 71
Barbara Matthews 24
Bill Maze 94
Carole Migden 0
Cindy Montañez 0
William Phillip Morrow 71
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 100
Eugene Mullin 0
Kevin Murray 6
Joseph Nation 0
Pedro Nava 0
Gloria Negrete McLeod 6
Roger Niello 71
Fabian Núñez 0
Jenny Oropeza 0
Deborah Ortiz 0
Nicole Parra 29
Don Perata 0
George Plescia 59
Charles Poochigian 71
Keith Stuart Richman 65
Gloria Romero 0
Ira Ruskin 0
Lori Saldaña 0
Simón Salinas 0
Jack Scott 0
Nell Soto 0
Audra Strickland 94
Alberto Torrico 6
Van Tran 76
Thomas Umberg 0
Mike Villines 94
Edward Vincent 0
Mark Wyland 76
Leland Yee 0

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.