Search Form
Now choose a category »

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Republican Assembly

2004 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
Samuel Aanestad 97%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 97%
Jay La Suer 97%
Bill Maze 97%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 97%
James Battin 95%
Russell Bogh 95%
Dave Cox 95%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 95%
Robert Dutton 95%
Richard Keene 95%
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 95%
Charles Poochigian 95%
Bob Margett 92%
William Phillip Morrow 92%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 92%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 92%
Richard Ackerman 89%
Roy Ashburn 89%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 89%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 89%
Sharon Runner 89%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 87%
Tom Harman 87%
George Plescia 87%
Gregory Aghazarian 84%
CA U.S. House 45 John Campbell III Republican 84%
Guy Houston 84%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 82%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer Republican 82%
Robert Leslie 79%
Keith Stuart Richman 71%
Lynn Daucher 68%
Abel Maldonado 68%
Shirley Horton 66%
Bonnie Garcia 61%
Barbara Matthews 47%
Joseph Canciamilla 45%
Dean Florez 45%
Edward Vincent 42%
Nicole Parra 32%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen Democratic 21%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz Democratic 21%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 21%
Denise Ducheny 16%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 16%
Joseph Dunn 13%
Michael Machado 13%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 13%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 8%
Nell Soto 8%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 8%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 5%
Dario Frommer 5%
Christine Kehoe 5%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 5%
Joseph Nation 5%
Deborah Ortiz 5%
Rebecca Cohn 3%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 3%
Jerome Horton 3%
Eugene Mullin 3%
Don Perata 3%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas Democratic 3%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 3%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 3%
Richard Alarcón 0%
Patty Berg 0%
Rudy Bermúdez 0%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 0%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 0%
Edward Chavez 0%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 0%
Mervyn Dymally 0%
Martha Escutia 0%
Liz Figueroa 0%
Jackie Goldberg 0%
Sheila Kuehl 0%
John Laird 0%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 0%
Lloyd Levine 0%
Sally Lieber 0%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0%
Cindy Montañez 0%
Kevin Murray 0%
Fabian Núñez 0%
Jenny Oropeza 0%
Gloria Romero 0%
Simón Salinas 0%
Jack Scott 0%
CA State Senate 8 Leland Yee Democratic 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top