or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees (AFSCME)

2000 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 100%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 100%
Howard Berman 100%
David Edward Bonior 100%
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
William Coyne 100%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Patsy Ann Danner 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
Bob Filner 100%
Barney Frank 100%
Sam Gejdenson 100%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Tony Hall 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 100%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 100%
Thomas Holden 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
Paul Kanjorski 100%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 100%
Patrick Kennedy 100%
Dale Kildee 100%
Carolyn Kilpatrick 100%
Gerald Kleczka 100%
Ronald Klink 100%
Dennis Kucinich 100%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
William Luther 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
Frank Mascara 100%
Karen McCarthy 100%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Carrie Meek 100%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 100%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 100%
John Moakley 100%
Jack Murtha 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 100%
Jim Oberstar 100%
Dave Obey 100%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 100%
Donald Payne 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 100%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 100%
Ciro Rodriguez 100%
Steve Rothman 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 100%
MI U.S. Senate Jr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 100%
Pete Stark 100%
Ted Strickland 100%
Bart Stupak 100%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 6 John Tierney Democratic 100%
Ed Towns 100%
Stephanie Tubbs Jones 100%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 100%
Bruce Vento 100%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Robert Wexler 100%
Bob Weygand 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 85%
Gary Ackerman 85%
Thomas Allen 85%
Rob Andrews 85%
Max Baucus 85%
Evan Bayh 85%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 85%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 85%
Shelley Berkley 85%
Jeff Bingaman 85%
Rod Blagojevich 85%
Rick Boucher 85%
Richard Bryan 85%
Robert Byrd 85%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 85%
Julia Carson 85%
Eva Clayton 85%
Kent Conrad 85%
Jerry Costello 85%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 85%
Peter Deutsch 85%
Norm Dicks 85%
Julian Dixon 85%
Chris Dodd 85%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 85%
Byron Dorgan 85%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 85%
John Edwards 85%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 85%
Michael Patrick Forbes 85%
Jonas Frost III 85%
Charlie Gonzalez 85%
Bart Gordon 85%
Daniel Graham 85%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 85%
Baron Hill 85%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 85%
Ernest Hollings 85%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 85%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 85%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 85%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 85%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 85%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 85%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 85%
John LaFalce 85%
Nicholas Lampson 85%
Tom Lantos 85%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 85%
Frank Lautenberg 85%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 85%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 85%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 85%
William Lipinski 85%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 85%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 85%
Robert Matsui 85%
Martin Meehan 85%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 85%
David Minge 85%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 85%
Alan Mollohan 85%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 85%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 85%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 85%
David Phelps 85%
Earl Pomeroy 85%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 85%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 85%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 85%
Silvestre Reyes 85%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 85%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 85%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 85%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 85%
Vic Snyder 85%
Karen Thurman 85%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 85%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 85%
Anthony Weiner 85%
Bob Wise, Jr. 85%
David Wu 85%
Albert Wynn 85%
Joe Baca, Sr. 83%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 83%
Thomas Daschle 83%
Bill Delahunt 83%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 83%
Joe Lieberman 83%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 83%
Michael McNulty 83%
Patrick Moynihan 83%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 83%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 80%
Daniel Inouye 75%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 75%
Brian Baird 71%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top