or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Gun Owners of America

2003 Positions

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
Roscoe Bartlett 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 90%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 10%
Thomas Allen 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 10%
Max Baucus 10%
Evan Bayh 10%
Douglas Bereuter 10%
Shelley Berkley 10%
Marion Berry 10%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 10%
Jeff Bingaman 10%
Sherwood Boehlert 10%
John Breaux 10%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 10%
Robert Byrd 10%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 10%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 10%
Kent Conrad 10%
Thomas Daschle 10%
James Davis 10%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 10%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 10%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 10%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 10%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 10%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 10%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 10%
Calvin Dooley 10%
Byron Dorgan 10%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 10%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 10%
Chet Edwards 10%
Bob Etheridge 10%
Russ Feingold 10%
Michael Ferguson 10%
Peter Fitzgerald 10%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 10%
Jonas Frost III 10%
Wayne Gilchrest 0%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 10%
Maurice Hinchey 10%
Ernest Hollings 10%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 10%
Darlene Hooley 10%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 10%
Daniel Inouye 10%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 10%
William Jefferson 10%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 10%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 10%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 10%
Dale Kildee 10%
IL U.S. Senate Jr Mark Kirk Republican 10%
Herb Kohl 10%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 10%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 10%
James Leach 10%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 10%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 10%
Joe Lieberman 10%
Blanche Lincoln 10%
Dick Lugar 10%
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic 10%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 10%
Michael McNulty 10%
Brad Miller 10%
Dennis Moore 0%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 10%
Ben Nelson 10%
Doug Ose 10%
Earl Pomeroy 10%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 10%
Jack Quinn 10%
James Ramstad 10%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 10%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 10%
Silvestre Reyes 10%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 10%
Ciro Rodriguez 10%
CA U.S. House 46 Loretta Sanchez Democratic 10%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 10%
GA U.S. House 13 David Scott Democratic 10%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 0%
Nick Smith 10%
Vic Snyder 10%
Hilda Solis 10%
John Spratt, Jr. 10%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 10%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Mark Udall Democratic 10%
MD U.S. House 8 Chris Van Hollen, Jr. Democratic 10%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 10%
John Warner 10%
Mel Watt 10%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 10%
Frank Ballance, Jr. 20%
Vern Ehlers 20%
James Merrill Jeffords 20%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 20%
Brian Baird 30%
Bob Bennett 30%
Mary Bono Mack 30%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 30%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 30%
Thomas Davis III 30%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 30%
Elizabeth Dole 30%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 30%
William Frist 30%
James Greenwood 30%
Amory Houghton, Jr. 30%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 30%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 30%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 30%
Jim Oberstar 30%
Dave Obey 30%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 30%
Jim Saxton 30%
Gordon Smith 30%
Ted Stevens 30%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 30%
George Voinovich 30%
James Walsh 30%
W. Curtis Weldon 30%
VA U.S. House 10 Frank Wolf Republican 30%
Bob Beauprez 40%
Judy Biggert 40%
Leonard Boswell 40%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 40%
Mark Foley 40%
Porter Goss 40%
Judd Gregg 40%
J. Dennis Hastert 40%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 40%
Henry Hyde 40%
James Kolbe 40%
Trent Lott, Sr. 40%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 40%
Jack Murtha 40%
Sue Myrick 40%
Anne Northup 40%
E. Clay Shaw, Jr. 40%
Olympia Snowe 40%
Arlen Specter 40%
Gerald Weller 40%
Bill Young 40%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 50%
George Allen 50%
Joe Baca, Sr. 50%
Charlie Bass 50%
Chris Bell 50%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 50%
Kit Bond 50%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 50%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 50%
Dennis Cardoza 50%
Jerry Costello 50%
Philip English 50%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 30%
Elton Gallegly 50%
Paul Gillmor 50%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 50%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 50%
Katherine Harris 50%
Baron Hill 50%
David Lee Hobson 50%
Thomas Holden 50%
Christopher John 50%
Paul Kanjorski 50%
Sue Kelly 50%
Jon Kyl 50%
Nicholas Lampson 50%
IA U.S. House 3 Tom Latham Republican 50%
Steve LaTourette 50%
UT U.S. House 4 Jim Matheson Democratic 50%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 50%
NC U.S. House 7 Mike McIntyre Democratic 50%
James Nussle 50%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 50%
Thomas William Osborne 50%
Michael Oxley 50%
Todd Platts 50%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 50%
Ralph Regula 50%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 50%
Max Sandlin, Jr. 50%
Rick Santorum 50%
AL U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Sessions III Republican 50%
Ike Skelton 50%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 50%
Charles Stenholm 50%
James Turner 50%
Zach Wamp 50%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 60%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 60%
Ben Campbell 60%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 60%
Christopher Cox 60%
David Dreier 60%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top