or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Gun Owners of America

2003 Positions

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 0%
Gary Ackerman 0%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 90%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 10%
Todd Akin 90%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 50%
Wayne Allard 70%
George Allen 50%
Thomas Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 0%
Joe Baca, Sr. 50%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 80%
Brian Baird 30%
Richard Hugh Baker 80%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 10%
Frank Ballance, Jr. 20%
Cass Ballenger 80%
J. Gresham Barrett 90%
Roscoe Bartlett 100%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 90%
Charlie Bass 50%
Max Baucus 10%
Evan Bayh 10%
Bob Beauprez 40%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
Chris Bell 50%
Bob Bennett 30%
Douglas Bereuter 10%
Shelley Berkley 10%
Howard Berman 0%
Marion Berry 10%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 10%
Judy Biggert 40%
Michael Bilirakis 70%
Jeff Bingaman 10%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 90%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 50%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 90%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 0%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 80%
Sherwood Boehlert 10%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 70%
Kit Bond 50%
Henry Bonilla 80%
Mary Bono Mack 30%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 90%
Leonard Boswell 40%
Rick Boucher 70%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 50%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 50%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 0%
John Breaux 10%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 0%
Henry Brown, Jr. 80%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 10%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 70%
Jim Bunning 70%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 70%
Conrad Burns 70%
Max Burns 90%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 60%
Dan Burton 90%
Steve Buyer 80%
Robert Byrd 10%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 80%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 60%
Ben Campbell 60%
Chris Cannon 90%
Eric Cantor 60%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 10%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 70%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 0%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
Dennis Cardoza 50%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 10%
Brad Carson 70%
Julia Carson 0%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 90%
Mike Castle 0%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 80%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 0%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 90%
Chris Chocola 90%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 0%
Hillary Clinton 0%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 0%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 90%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 30%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 70%
Norm Coleman 70%
Michael Collins 90%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 30%
Larry Combest 0%
Kent Conrad 10%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 0%
Jerry Costello 50%
Christopher Cox 60%
Larry Craig 70%
Robert Cramer 70%
Philip Crane 90%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 70%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 80%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 0%
Barbara Cubin 90%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 90%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
Randall Cunningham 80%
Thomas Daschle 10%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
James Davis 10%
Jo Ann Davis 80%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 10%
Thomas Davis III 30%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 10%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 80%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 10%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 10%
Bill Delahunt 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
Thomas DeLay 90%
James DeMint 90%
Peter Deutsch 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 10%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 10%
Norm Dicks 0%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 30%
Chris Dodd 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 10%
Elizabeth Dole 30%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 30%
Calvin Dooley 10%
John Doolittle 90%
Byron Dorgan 10%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 10%
David Dreier 60%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 90%
Jennifer Dunn 60%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 10%
Chet Edwards 10%
Vern Ehlers 20%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 0%
Jo Ann Emerson 80%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 0%
Philip English 50%
John Ensign 70%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 90%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 0%
Bob Etheridge 10%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 90%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 0%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 0%
Tom Feeney 90%
Russ Feingold 10%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 0%
Michael Ferguson 10%
Bob Filner 0%
Peter Fitzgerald 10%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 90%
Ernest Fletcher 0%
Mark Foley 40%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 80%
Harold Ford, Jr. 0%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 30%
Barney Frank 0%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 90%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 10%
William Frist 30%
Jonas Frost III 10%
Elton Gallegly 50%
NJ U.S. House 5 Scott Garrett Republican 90%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 0%
Jim Gibbons 70%
Wayne Gilchrest 0%
Paul Gillmor 50%
GA U.S. House 11 Phil Gingrey Republican 70%
Charlie Gonzalez 0%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 90%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 80%
Bart Gordon 70%
Porter Goss 40%
Daniel Graham 0%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 80%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 50%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 80%
Mark Green 60%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 50%
James Greenwood 30%
Judd Gregg 40%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 0%
Gilbert Gutknecht 60%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 90%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 10%
Jane Harman 0%
Katherine Harris 50%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top