or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Better Immigration

1989-2002 Lifetime Score

Issues: Immigration
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 40%
Gary Ackerman 13%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 57%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 25%
Todd Akin 60%
Wayne Allard 28%
George Allen 80%
Thomas Allen 37%
Rob Andrews 16%
Joe Baca, Sr. 5%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 95%
Brian Baird 14%
Richard Hugh Baker 95%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 27%
Cass Ballenger 91%
Roscoe Bartlett 95%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 94%
Charlie Bass 85%
Max Baucus 43%
Evan Bayh 35%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 8%
Bob Bennett 18%
Douglas Bereuter 95%
Shelley Berkley 13%
Howard Berman 14%
Marion Berry 23%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 22%
Judy Biggert 37%
Michael Bilirakis 94%
Jeff Bingaman 21%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 27%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 11%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 60%
Sherwood Boehlert 26%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 55%
Kit Bond 33%
Henry Bonilla 48%
Mary Bono Mack 34%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 57%
Leonard Boswell 25%
Rick Boucher 52%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 40%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 83%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 64%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 22%
John Breaux 60%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 10%
Henry Brown, Jr. 59%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 11%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 18%
Jim Bunning 82%
Conrad Burns 51%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 74%
Dan Burton 98%
Steve Buyer 71%
Robert Byrd 95%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 87%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 82%
Ben Campbell 30%
Chris Cannon 25%
Eric Cantor 93%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 55%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 12%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 13%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 21%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 28%
Brad Carson 57%
Julia Carson 31%
Mike Castle 61%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 37%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 56%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 86%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 16%
Hillary Clinton 34%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 10%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 96%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 29%
Michael Collins 92%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 43%
Larry Combest 95%
Kent Conrad 52%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 8%
Jon Corzine 78%
Jerry Costello 18%
Christopher Cox 91%
Larry Craig 68%
Robert Cramer 62%
Philip Crane 77%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 74%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 55%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 13%
Barbara Cubin 91%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 21%
Randall Cunningham 90%
Thomas Daschle 15%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 21%
James Davis 12%
Jo Ann Davis 93%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 21%
Thomas Davis III 21%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 99%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 79%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 22%
Bill Delahunt 19%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 18%
Thomas DeLay 71%
James DeMint 63%
Peter Deutsch 14%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 18%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 11%
Norm Dicks 20%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 24%
Chris Dodd 15%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 12%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 24%
Calvin Dooley 8%
John Doolittle 94%
Byron Dorgan 25%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 35%
David Dreier 75%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 99%
Jennifer Dunn 60%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 15%
John Edwards 17%
Chet Edwards 24%
Vern Ehlers 55%
Jo Ann Emerson 99%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 15%
Philip English 21%
John Ensign 25%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 32%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 22%
Bob Etheridge 46%
Lane Evans 6%
Terry Everett 96%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 17%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 13%
Russ Feingold 23%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 56%
Michael Ferguson 55%
Bob Filner 14%
Peter Fitzgerald 59%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 58%
Ernest Fletcher 37%
Mark Foley 84%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 66%
Harold Ford, Jr. 33%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 37%
Barney Frank 12%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 88%
William Frist 23%
Jonas Frost III 11%
Elton Gallegly 95%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 16%
Jim Gibbons 78%
Wayne Gilchrest 82%
Paul Gillmor 72%
Charlie Gonzalez 5%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 99%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 96%
Bart Gordon 35%
Porter Goss 91%
Daniel Graham 5%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 83%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 49%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 67%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 66%
Mark Green 47%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 10%
James Greenwood 91%
Judd Gregg 27%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 9%
Gilbert Gutknecht 78%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 24%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 95%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 18%
Jane Harman 52%
Melissa Hart 33%
J. Dennis Hastert 94%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 8%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 75%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 21%
Robert Hayes 91%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 30%
Joel Hefley 96%
Wally Herger, Jr. 96%
Baron Hill 19%
Maurice Hinchey 55%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 5%
David Lee Hobson 67%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 14%
Pete Hoekstra 52%
Thomas Holden 70%
Ernest Hollings 79%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 1%
Darlene Hooley 35%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top