or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)

2011 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
Gary Ackerman 90%
Sandy Adams 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 95%
Todd Akin 0%
Rodney Alexander 21%
Jason Altmire 90%
Rob Andrews 100%
Steve Austria 0%
Joe Baca, Sr. 100%
Roscoe Bartlett 0%
Charlie Bass 7%
Max Baucus 79%
Rick Berg 0%
Shelley Berkley 100%
Howard Berman 90%
Judy Biggert 34%
Brian Bilbray 7%
Jeff Bingaman 84%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 0%
Mary Bono Mack 0%
Dan Boren 45%
Leonard Boswell 93%
Scott Brown 21%
Ann Marie Buerkle 0%
Dan Burton 0%
Francisco Canseco 3%
Eric Cantor 0%
Dennis Cardoza 81%
Russ Carnahan 100%
Ben Chandler III 90%
Hansen Clarke 100%
Kent Conrad 84%
Jerry Costello 93%
Chip Cravaack 24%
Mark Critz 100%
Geoff Davis 3%
James DeMint 16%
Norm Dicks 90%
Robert Dold 31%
David Dreier 4%
Jo Ann Emerson 48%
John Ensign 0%
Bob Filner 100%
Barney Frank 100%
Elton Gallegly 0%
Gabrielle Giffords 0%
Charlie Gonzalez 90%
Frank Guinta 0%
Jane Harman 100%
Nan Hayworth 3%
Wally Herger, Jr. 4%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
Kathy Hochul 94%
Thomas Holden 93%
Kay Hutchison 11%
Daniel Inouye 89%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
Tim Johnson 48%
Dale Kildee 100%
Larry Kissell 90%
Herb Kohl 82%
Dennis Kucinich 97%
Jon Kyl 16%
Jeff Landry 3%
Steve LaTourette 62%
Frank Lautenberg 89%
Chris Lee 0%
Jerry Lewis 0%
Joe Lieberman 74%
Dick Lugar 11%
Dan Lungren 0%
Connie Mack IV 4%
Don Manzullo 4%
Thaddeus McCotter 34%
Brad Miller 100%
Sue Myrick 4%
Ben Nelson 58%
John Olver 96%
Ron Paul 12%
Donald Payne 100%
Todd Platts 11%
Ben Quayle 0%
Denny Rehberg 24%
Silvestre Reyes 100%
Laura Richardson 100%
David Rivera 28%
Mike Ross 64%
Steve Rothman 97%
Bobby Schilling 25%
Jean Schmidt 28%
Heath Shuler 79%
Olympia Snowe 33%
Pete Stark 100%
Cliff Stearns 3%
John Sullivan 4%
Betty Sutton 100%
Ed Towns 100%
Bob Turner 0%
Joe Walsh 28%
Mel Watt 97%
Jim Webb, Jr. 84%
Anthony Weiner 100%
Allen West 0%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
David Wu 95%
Bill Young 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 12 John Barrow Democratic 76%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 93%
AK U.S. Senate Jr Mark Begich Democratic 89%
CO U.S. Senate Jr Michael Bennet Democratic 79%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 1 Tim Bishop Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 93%
CT U.S. Senate Sr Richard Blumenthal Democratic 95%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 95%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
IA U.S. House 1 Bruce Braley Democratic 96%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 95%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 100%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 84%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 95%
DE U.S. House At-Large John Carney, Jr. Democratic 90%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 79%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 100%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 95%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
RI U.S. House 1 David Cicilline Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 93%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 100%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 86%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 97%
DE U.S. Senate Jr Chris Coons Democratic 89%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 71%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 76%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 89%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 69%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 97%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 90%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 97%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 93%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 21 Ted Deutch Democratic 100%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 97%
IN U.S. Senate Jr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 86%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 89%
MD U.S. House 4 Donna Edwards Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 93%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 93%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 96%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 79%
OH U.S. House 11 Marcia Fudge Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 3 John Garamendi Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 89%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 100%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raúl Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 96%
NC U.S. Senate Jr Kay Hagan Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 44 Janice Hahn Democratic 100%
HI U.S. House 1 Colleen Hanabusa Democratic 97%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 97%
NM U.S. Senate Jr Martin Heinrich Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic 100%
CT U.S. House 4 Jim Himes Democratic 90%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 92%
HI U.S. Senate Jr Mazie Hirono Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 90%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 3 Steve Israel Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 93%
GA U.S. House 4 Hank Johnson, Jr. Democratic 100%
SD U.S. Senate Sr Timothy Johnson Democratic 84%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 9 Bill Keating Democratic 100%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 79%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 86%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Mary Landrieu Democratic 84%
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 90%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 93%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top