or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)

2002 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 100%
Gary Ackerman 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 11%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 11%
Wayne Allard 17%
George Allen 23%
Thomas Allen 100%
Rob Andrews 89%
Joe Baca, Sr. 89%
AL U.S. House 6 Spencer Bachus Republican 11%
Brian Baird 100%
Richard Hugh Baker 11%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
Cass Ballenger 13%
Roscoe Bartlett 22%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 13%
Charlie Bass 0%
Max Baucus 69%
Evan Bayh 85%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 88%
Bob Bennett 23%
Douglas Bereuter 11%
Shelley Berkley 89%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 78%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 100%
Judy Biggert 11%
Michael Bilirakis 11%
Jeff Bingaman 92%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 78%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 14%
Sherwood Boehlert 11%
OH U.S. House 8 John Boehner Republican 11%
Kit Bond 15%
Henry Bonilla 11%
Mary Bono Mack 11%
AR U.S. Senate Jr John Boozman Republican 11%
Leonard Boswell 78%
Rick Boucher 89%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 75%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 13%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
John Breaux 77%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 100%
Henry Brown, Jr. 11%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 15%
Jim Bunning 31%
Conrad Burns 31%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 11%
Dan Burton 13%
Steve Buyer 13%
Robert Byrd 85%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 11%
MI U.S. House 4 Dave Camp Republican 11%
Ben Campbell 38%
Chris Cannon 0%
VA U.S. House 7 Eric Cantor Republican 11%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 85%
WV U.S. House 2 Shelley Capito Republican 22%
CA U.S. House 24 Lois Capps Democratic 89%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 89%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 85%
Brad Carson 67%
Julia Carson 100%
Mike Castle 11%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 11%
RI Governor Linc Chafee Democratic 46%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Saxby Chambliss Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 100%
Hillary Clinton 92%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
NC U.S. House 6 Howard Coble Republican 11%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 23%
Michael Collins 22%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 31%
Larry Combest 0%
Kent Conrad 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
Jon Corzine 100%
Jerry Costello 100%
Christopher Cox 11%
Larry Craig 8%
Robert Cramer 44%
Philip Crane 11%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 9%
FL U.S. House 4 Ander Crenshaw Republican 11%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 78%
Barbara Cubin 0%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 11%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Randall Cunningham 11%
Thomas Daschle 92%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
James Davis 89%
Jo Ann Davis 25%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 89%
Thomas Davis III 11%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 11%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
Thomas DeLay 0%
James DeMint 11%
Peter Deutsch 89%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 23%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 14%
Norm Dicks 88%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 25%
Calvin Dooley 67%
John Doolittle 13%
Byron Dorgan 100%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
David Dreier 11%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 11%
Jennifer Dunn 11%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
John Edwards 100%
Chet Edwards 89%
Vern Ehlers 11%
Jo Ann Emerson 22%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Philip English 11%
John Ensign 15%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 17%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Bob Etheridge 78%
Lane Evans 100%
Terry Everett 0%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
Russ Feingold 92%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 92%
Michael Ferguson 11%
Bob Filner 89%
Peter Fitzgerald 31%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 22%
Ernest Fletcher 11%
Mark Foley 11%
VA U.S. House 4 Randy Forbes Republican 11%
Harold Ford, Jr. 86%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 11%
Barney Frank 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 11%
William Frist 15%
Jonas Frost III 100%
Elton Gallegly 11%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 100%
Jim Gibbons 11%
Wayne Gilchrest 13%
Paul Gillmor 13%
Charlie Gonzalez 100%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 11%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 0%
Bart Gordon 75%
Porter Goss 11%
Daniel Graham 85%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 22%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 0%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 15%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 11%
Mark Green 11%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 100%
James Greenwood 13%
Judd Gregg 15%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Gilbert Gutknecht 22%
NA U.S. Secretary of Defense Charles Hagel Republican 23%
TX U.S. House 4 Ralph Hall Republican 22%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 100%
Jane Harman 50%
Melissa Hart 11%
J. Dennis Hastert 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 4 Doc Hastings Republican 11%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 23%
Robert Hayes 22%
J.D. Hayworth, Jr. 11%
Joel Hefley 13%
Wally Herger, Jr. 11%
Baron Hill 44%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
TX U.S. House 15 Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. Democratic 71%
David Lee Hobson 11%
PA Commissioner At-Large Joseph Hoeffel 100%
Pete Hoekstra 11%
Thomas Holden 89%
Ernest Hollings 92%
NJ U.S. House 12 Rush Holt, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 17 Mike Honda Democratic 100%
Darlene Hooley 88%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top