or Login to see your representatives.

Access Candidates' and Representatives' Biographies, Voting Records, Interest Group Ratings, Issue Positions, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances

Simply enter your zip code above to get to all of your candidates and representatives, or enter a name. Then, just click on the person you are interested in, and you can navigate to the categories of information we track for them.

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Children's Defense Fund

1996 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett Democratic 100%
Anthony Beilenson 100%
David Edward Bonior 100%
CA U.S. Senate Jr Barbara Boxer Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
Ronald Coleman 100%
Barbara-Rose Collins 100%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
William Coyne 100%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Ronald Dellums 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
Lane Evans 100%
PA U.S. House 2 Chaka Fattah, Sr. Democratic 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
Thomas Foglietta 100%
Barney Frank 100%
John Glenn 100%
Henry Gonzalez 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutierrez Democratic 100%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
Patrick Kennedy 100%
John LaFalce 100%
Tom Lantos 100%
Frank Lautenberg 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 7 Jim McDermott Democratic 100%
Cynthia Ann McKinney 100%
Juanita Millender-McDonald 100%
Patsy Takemoto Mink 100%
Patrick Moynihan 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
John Olver 100%
Major Owens 100%
AZ U.S. House 7 Ed Pastor Democratic 100%
Donald Payne 100%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 13 Charlie Rangel Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
Martin Olav Sabo 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
Paul Sarbanes 100%
Pat Schroeder 100%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
Gerry Studds 100%
Ray Thornton 100%
Michael Ward 100%
Mel Watt 100%
Paul Wellstone 100%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
Sidney Yates 100%
Bill Bradley 94%
David Pryor 94%
HI Governor Neil Abercrombie Democratic 93%
CA U.S. House 34 Xavier Becerra Democratic 93%
Jeff Bingaman 93%
FL U.S. House 5 Corrine Brown Democratic 93%
George Brown, Jr. 93%
Dale Bumpers 93%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 93%
Thomas Daschle 93%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 93%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 93%
Julian Dixon 93%
CA U.S. House 20 Sam Farr Democratic 93%
Floyd Flake 93%
Richard Andrew Gephardt 93%
Earl Hilliard, Jr. 93%
Maurice Hinchey 93%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 93%
William Jefferson 93%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 93%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 93%
Joseph Kennedy II 93%
Dale Kildee 93%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 93%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 93%
Robert Matsui 93%
Michael McNulty 93%
Martin Meehan 93%
Carrie Meek 93%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 93%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Barbara Mikulski Democratic 93%
Carol Moseley Braun 93%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 93%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 93%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 93%
Esteban Edward Torres 93%
Ed Towns 93%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 93%
Bruce Vento 93%
CA U.S. House 33 Henry Waxman Democratic 93%
Albert Wynn 93%
Tom Bevill 91%
E. Kika de la Garza 91%
Harold Ford, Sr. 91%
Sam Gibbons 91%
Andrew Jacobs, Jr. 91%
Harry Johnston 91%
Bill Orton 91%
Lewis Payne, Jr. 91%
Pete Peterson 91%
Frank Tejeda 91%
Charles Wilson 91%
Clay Pell 89%
Paul Simon 89%
Kent Conrad 87%
Chris Dodd 87%
Byron Dorgan 87%
Russ Feingold 87%
Daniel Inouye 87%
Bob Kerrey 87%
NA U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry Democratic 87%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Carl Levin Democratic 87%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Harry Reid Democratic 87%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 87%
Gary Ackerman 86%
Howard Berman 86%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 86%
Robert Borski, Jr. 86%
William Clay, Sr. 86%
MI U.S. House 12 John Dingell Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 86%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 86%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 86%
William Luther 86%
Matthew Martinez 86%
Karen McCarthy 86%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 86%
Jim Oberstar 86%
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. 86%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 86%
Earl Pomeroy 86%
WV U.S. House 3 Nick Rahall II Democratic 86%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 86%
Lynn Nancy Rivers 86%
David Skaggs 86%
Pete Stark 86%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 86%
Jim Exon 83%
J. Bennett Johnston 83%
Glen Browder 82%
Cardiss Collins 82%
Cleo Fields 82%
Bill Richardson 82%
Charles Rose III 82%
Harold Volkmer 82%
Max Baucus 80%
Richard Bryan 80%
Wendell Ford 80%
Daniel Graham 80%
IA U.S. Senate Jr Tom Harkin Democratic 80%
Ernest Hollings 80%
Joe Lieberman 80%
WV U.S. Senate Sr Jay Rockefeller IV Democratic 80%
Rob Andrews 79%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 79%
Rick Boucher 79%
Norm Dicks 79%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 79%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 79%
Victor Fazio 79%
Elizabeth Furse 79%
Sam Gejdenson 79%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 79%
Tony Hall 79%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 79%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 79%
Barbara Bailey Kennelly 79%
Gerald Kleczka 79%
Ronald Klink 79%
Thomas Manton 79%
CA U.S. House 11 George Miller Democratic 79%
David Minge 79%
John Moakley 79%
Alan Mollohan 79%
VA U.S. House 8 Jim Moran, Jr. Democratic 79%
Dave Obey 79%
OH State Senate 28 Thomas Sawyer Democratic 79%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 79%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 79%
NA Vice President Joe Biden, Jr. Democratic 73%
John Bryant 73%
Robert Byrd 73%
Jim Chapman 73%
Herb Kohl 73%
Sam Nunn 72%
Henry Scott Baesler 71%
ME Councilor At-Large John Baldacci Democratic 71%
James Barcia 71%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 71%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Ben Cardin Democratic 71%
Jerry Costello 71%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Back to top