Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Park and Recreation Society

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 30%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 22%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 33%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 35 Gloria Negrete McLeod Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 2 Wesley Chesbro Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 3 Lois Wolk Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 9 Loni Hancock Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 11 Mark Leno Democratic 90%
CA State Senate 25 Carol Liu Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 27 Fran Pavley Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 30 Ron Calderon Democratic 89%
CA State Senate 38 Mark Wyland Republican 60%
CA Secretary of State Debra Bowen Democratic 86%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer Republican 50%
CA Supervisor 4 John Benoit 50%
CA Supervisor 5 Saren Simitian Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz Democratic 100%
CA Council Member 6 David Cogdill Republican 40%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 40%
CA Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Democratic 100%
Samuel Aanestad 22%
Richard Ackerman 30%
Gregory Aghazarian 40%
Richard Alarcón 100%
Roy Ashburn 22%
James Battin 33%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Russell Bogh 50%
Joseph Canciamilla 67%
Edward Chavez 100%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Dave Cox 40%
Lynn Daucher 60%
Denise Ducheny 100%
Joseph Dunn 100%
Robert Dutton 60%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Dean Florez 90%
Dario Frommer 100%
Bonnie Garcia 80%
Jackie Goldberg 90%
Tom Harman 44%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 40%
Dennis Hollingsworth 30%
Jerome Horton 100%
Shirley Horton 50%
Guy Houston 50%
Richard Keene 30%
Christine Kehoe 90%
Sheila Kuehl 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 33%
Robert Leslie 30%
Lloyd Levine 90%
Sally Lieber 100%
Michael Machado 89%
Abel Maldonado 80%
Bob Margett 29%
Barbara Matthews 90%
Bill Maze 20%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 38%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 40%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 88%
Joseph Nation 100%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Deborah Ortiz 100%
Nicole Parra 80%
Don Perata 100%
George Plescia 50%
Charles Poochigian 30%
Keith Stuart Richman 89%
Gloria Romero 100%
Sharon Runner 50%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 100%
Nell Soto 100%
Edward Vincent 100%
Leland Yee 90%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top
Back to top